Install Loop Fedora 25

rchiu29
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 22, 2018 5:42 pm

Install Loop Fedora 25

Postby rchiu29 » Tue May 22, 2018 5:47 pm

I am new to Amahi. I have been trying to install Amahi 10 on an old PC. It meets the hardware requirements, but when I boot the install disk and click "Install Fedora 25", it restarts the PC. I have tried doing the troubleshooting, and testing the memory, and everything seems to be fine, but I never get past the install screen. It just constantly reboots itself and brings me back to the same screen over an over again.

Please help!

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11436
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Install Loop Fedora 25

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue May 22, 2018 6:55 pm

Is this old PC a 64-bit machine? Amahi does not support 32-bit machines any longer.

Did you download the Fedora 25 Netinstall CD?

Also check that the CD image is not corrupt.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

rchiu29
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 22, 2018 5:42 pm

Re: Install Loop Fedora 25

Postby rchiu29 » Wed May 23, 2018 9:30 am

Thanks for your reply.

The PC is a 64-bit machine. It has 4GB RAM. I did confirm that it was the correct file that I downloaded.

I tried downloading the file again, just in case the previous file that I downloaded was corrupted. I have burned the .iso to multiple CD's, but the results are the same each time. It just continues to reboot and loop back to the Install Fedora 25 screen. I have tried to install in basic graphics mode as well, but it does the same thing.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11436
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Install Loop Fedora 25

Postby bigfoot65 » Wed May 23, 2018 10:37 am

Might try the DVD image vs the CD.

Some machines require more than what the CD provides.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

rchiu29
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 22, 2018 5:42 pm

Re: Install Loop Fedora 25

Postby rchiu29 » Wed May 23, 2018 12:51 pm

Still no luck.

I burned the .iso to a DVD, and it still does the same thing. I also tried with a USB before I saw the blog post saying that it wouldn't work with USB.

Any other thoughts?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11436
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Install Loop Fedora 25

Postby bigfoot65 » Wed May 23, 2018 2:04 pm

Really odd. Wonder if you could have a bad drive?

Has the hard drive been formatted? Does any other Linux distributions work, such as Ubuntu?

Also check the machine BIOS. UEFI must be disabled. Also if there is a secure boot setting, disable it as well.

Not sure what else could cause this issue.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest