Cannot access Lotus Notes server while Amahi server is up

marcerickson
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 12:20 pm

Cannot access Lotus Notes server while Amahi server is up

Postby marcerickson » Thu May 03, 2012 3:35 pm

I contract to IBM and sometimes work from home. My IBM supplied laptop uses an AT & T dialer to login to the IBM VPN server once I'm connected to my LAN. I then start Lotus Notes to start working.

When the Amahi server is running, I cannot connect to the Lotus Notes servers. The workaround is to take the Amahi server down, but of course I'd like to not have to do that.

Help!

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11436
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Cannot access Lotus Notes server while Amahi server is u

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri May 04, 2012 4:44 am

Obviously there is some sort of conflict with the two. This is not something we can easily resolve here. Recommend you check log files in /var/log and try to find some clues.

The current process of taking down the Amahi server may be your only option. It really depends on what is causing the conflict.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

User avatar
sgtfoo
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:27 pm

Re: Cannot access Lotus Notes server while Amahi server is u

Postby sgtfoo » Fri May 04, 2012 5:25 am

Do you have any Amahi VPNs installed?

I'm guessing the Amahi VPNs could be conflicting with ports that Lotus Notes wants to use.
SgtFoo
HDA: VM inside oVirt FX-8300 95w (2 cores for HDA), 32GB RAM (2GB for HDA)
My PC: FX-8300, 16GB RAM, 3x 1TB HDDs, Radeon HD6970 2GB video; Win10 Pro x64
Other: PC, Asus 1215n (LXLE), Debian openZFS server (3x(2x2tb) mirrors)
Modem&Network: Thomson DCM475; Asus RT-AC66U; HP 1800-24G switch

marcerickson
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 12:20 pm

Re: Cannot access Lotus Notes server while Amahi server is u

Postby marcerickson » Fri May 04, 2012 9:08 am

No VPNs installed yet - but I was planning to add one in the future.

Thanks for both your suggestions - now I have a place to start looking.

User avatar
ciscoh
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:53 pm

Re: Cannot access Lotus Notes server while Amahi server is u

Postby ciscoh » Fri May 04, 2012 11:53 am

No VPNs installed yet - but I was planning to add one in the future.

Thanks for both your suggestions - now I have a place to start looking.
there is likely a IP networking conflict.

Is the Notes server in the same IP network as your home network?

What is the IP of the HDA? What is the IP of the Notes server?

marcerickson
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 12:20 pm

Re: Cannot access Lotus Notes server while Amahi server is u

Postby marcerickson » Fri May 04, 2012 12:59 pm

Why would it work OK when the Amahi server is off if there's an IP networking conflict? Wouldn't the conflict still exist regardless of if the Amahi server is running or not?

User avatar
ciscoh
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:53 pm

Re: Cannot access Lotus Notes server while Amahi server is u

Postby ciscoh » Fri May 04, 2012 1:10 pm

Why would it work OK when the Amahi server is off if there's an IP networking conflict? Wouldn't the conflict still exist regardless of if the Amahi server is running or not?

not if the Amahi server is the same as IP as the Notes server

marcerickson
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 12:20 pm

Re: Cannot access Lotus Notes server while Amahi server is u

Postby marcerickson » Sun May 06, 2012 11:27 am

Right - I'm forgetting my basic networking - my bad. :-(

Since I don't know the IP address of the Notes server(s), I think that I should change my class C address to something a little less popular - like 192.168.252.x for example.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11436
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Cannot access Lotus Notes server while Amahi server is u

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun May 06, 2012 5:01 pm

That would simplify the situation and hopefully correct your issue.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

User avatar
ciscoh
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:53 pm

Re: Cannot access Lotus Notes server while Amahi server is u

Postby ciscoh » Mon May 07, 2012 5:05 am

it could also be a number of other issues.


it seems most likely to be IP addressing conflicts but, honestly, very few corporations use 192.168.x.x in their corporate IP addressing plans.


let us know if you still have issue. i would be happy to provide some additional things to look at if needed.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest