CLOSED: Amahi Energy Saver

User avatar
jayrock
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:55 am

Re: Amahi Energy Saver

Postby jayrock » Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:30 am

There is one that is optimized for Amahi Energy Saver. It will for instance display server AES notifications.

http://code.google.com/p/amahienergysav ... i&can=2&q=


/jayrock

wobbly
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 12:21 am

Re: Amahi Energy Saver

Postby wobbly » Sun Feb 05, 2012 6:23 am

still can't get this "wake on lan working"
i have AES client running AES knows the the hda is running eg if i push the power on the amahi box AES sees it ... i cant get it to wake the amahi box windos side

here is my ethtool eth0 output

ethtool eth0
Settings for eth0:
Supported ports: [ TP MII ]
Supported link modes: 10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
1000baseT/Half 1000baseT/Full
Supports auto-negotiation: Yes
Advertised link modes: 10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
1000baseT/Half 1000baseT/Full
Advertised pause frame use: No
Advertised auto-negotiation: Yes
Link partner advertised link modes: 10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
1000baseT/Full
Link partner advertised pause frame use: No
Link partner advertised auto-negotiation: Yes
Speed: 1000Mb/s
Duplex: Full
Port: MII
PHYAD: 0
Transceiver: internal
Auto-negotiation: on
Supports Wake-on: pumbg
Wake-on: g
Current message level: 0x00000033 (51)
drv probe ifdown ifup
Link detected: yes

that's as far as i got
i don't know what to do next .... any help would be great

ps its a pci card nic so

User avatar
jayrock
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:55 am

Re: Amahi Energy Saver

Postby jayrock » Sun Feb 05, 2012 8:16 am

Hi wobbly,

what kind of PCI card is it? What type of motherboard?

Does it work with any other kind of WOL tool?

Did you set the BIOS so that the machine wakes up on PCI events?

Last not least, when you suspend you machine, does the NIC have power?

Cheers

jayrock

modem7
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 6:00 pm

Re: Amahi Energy Saver

Postby modem7 » Wed Apr 11, 2012 2:39 pm

Hey guys,

I've managed to install AES, set up hosts, set up calendar............but unfortunately, I'm not quite sure how to test it.

I've installed the AES Windows client, it finds the HDA, inputs MAC address etc etc etc............yet, when I go to click "server power save now".......it does diddly squat.

I have 64bit amahi on an HP N40L.


Log:
uID 15733
Messagetype Syslog
Message I, [2012-04-11T22:38:05.967978 #18568] INFO -- : Powersave requested but blocked


uID 15660
Messagetype Syslog
Message D, [2012-04-11T22:38:05.967778 #18568] DEBUG -- : An ical task is active

uID 15587
Messagetype Syslog
Message D, [2012-04-11T22:38:05.280085 #18568] DEBUG -- : No locked shares found

uID 15815
Messagetype Syslog
Message D, [2012-04-11T22:38:19.301248 #18568] DEBUG -- : pc.home.com [More Information] : External ping successful 0.000689 ms

uID 16910
Messagetype Syslog
Message I, [2012-04-11T22:48:21.116805 #20475] INFO -- : Powersave requested from 192.168.1.3 [More Information] {alexpc.home.com [More Information] }

User avatar
jayrock
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:55 am

Re: Amahi Energy Saver

Postby jayrock » Wed Apr 11, 2012 9:38 pm

Hi modem7,

this message tells you that an active calendar task is preventing your HDA from power off:
uID 15660
Messagetype Syslog
Message D, [2012-04-11T22:38:05.967778 #18568] DEBUG -- : An ical task is active
Please double check your calendar to make sure that no task is currently active.

For further troubleshooting please send the full log.

Cheers,

jayrock

modem7
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 6:00 pm

Re: Amahi Energy Saver

Postby modem7 » Thu Apr 12, 2012 7:19 am

Hi modem7,

this message tells you that an active calendar task is preventing your HDA from power off:
uID 15660
Messagetype Syslog
Message D, [2012-04-11T22:38:05.967778 #18568] DEBUG -- : An ical task is active
Please double check your calendar to make sure that no task is currently active.

For further troubleshooting please send the full log.

Cheers,

jayrock
Ah awesome, I'll check it out this evening.

I was under the (assumed) impression that if you clicked on that button, the AMS would ignore all other values and shutdown/standby.

I'll give it a go and post my logs if I don't get the results that I need.

Thank you!

User avatar
jayrock
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:55 am

Re: Amahi Energy Saver

Postby jayrock » Thu Apr 12, 2012 12:17 pm

I was under the (assumed) impression that if you clicked on that button, the AMS would ignore all other values and shutdown/standby.
Well, actually the only thing that is ignored is whether clients are on - for the other items I think that it is better not to ignore them, for instance to address the situation where a user wants to shut down the server and isn't aware that something else is running.

Maybe another config item for future versions....

Cheers,
jayrock

modem7
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 6:00 pm

Re: Amahi Energy Saver

Postby modem7 » Thu Apr 12, 2012 1:01 pm

I was under the (assumed) impression that if you clicked on that button, the AMS would ignore all other values and shutdown/standby.
Well, actually the only thing that is ignored is whether clients are on - for the other items I think that it is better not to ignore them, for instance to address the situation where a user wants to shut down the server and isn't aware that something else is running.

Maybe another config item for future versions....

Cheers,
jayrock
Nope, that's a perfectly good idea.

Tried it again after deleting the calendar appointments, shutdown works, but not standby (again, that's in the FAQ that it hasn't been fully tested, so I'm not too worried about that).

Thanks once again guys! Great community as always!

Have also used the scripts that you guys have developed so that it doesn't shutdown when greyhole is doing something etc.

modem7
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 6:00 pm

Re: Amahi Energy Saver

Postby modem7 » Thu Apr 26, 2012 4:01 am

Hey guys,

How does one reset current values of the power usage/saved chart?

Also, is the usage in kwH? (under the 75/5 bit)?

Many thanks!

User avatar
jayrock
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:55 am

Re: Amahi Energy Saver

Postby jayrock » Thu Apr 26, 2012 11:20 am

Hello modem7,
How does one reset current values of the power usage/saved chart?
Run this command in a root console:

Code: Select all

rm /usr/share/aes/energy-logger.yml
This will delete the recorded history.

Then click "Apply" to restart the service.
Also, is the usage in kwH? (under the 75/5 bit)?
Do you mean in the Settings section at the bottom of the config page? That's power consumption in Watts [W].

Cheers,
jayrock

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests