CLOSED: Installing Amahi on Brand New Dell but Error

basact
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2021 4:18 pm

CLOSED: Installing Amahi on Brand New Dell but Error

Postby basact » Tue Jan 12, 2021 2:56 pm

Hi I am using express DVD which I tested on my old computer. Everything is working fine. Now I want to switch to a brand new PC. When trying to install, I am getting "/dev/root does not exist". Please help. Thanks.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11837
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Installing Amahi on Brand New Dell but Error

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue Jan 12, 2021 4:21 pm

Don’t use the Express DVD. Instructions state to use minimal CD first. Please follow the instructions.

It works best and we don’t recommend the DVD due to many issues users experience.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

basact
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2021 4:18 pm

Re: Installing Amahi on Brand New Dell but Error

Postby basact » Tue Jan 12, 2021 4:45 pm

Don’t use the Express DVD. Instructions state to use minimal CD first. Please follow the instructions.

It works best and we don’t recommend the DVD due to many issues users experience.
Still same issue with it too. Same error.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11837
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Installing Amahi on Brand New Dell but Error

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue Jan 12, 2021 5:49 pm

There may be an issue with the media you are using.

Are you using DVD, CD, or USB?

CD is best, but USB does work for many. Have to follow the guidance in the wiki for using USB.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

basact
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2021 4:18 pm

Re: Installing Amahi on Brand New Dell but Error

Postby basact » Tue Jan 12, 2021 6:56 pm

There may be an issue with the media you are using.

Are you using DVD, CD, or USB?

CD is best, but USB does work for many. Have to follow the guidance in the wiki for using USB.
Tried USB too but still getting the same Error.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11837
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Installing Amahi on Brand New Dell but Error

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue Jan 12, 2021 8:17 pm

Don't know what the issue could be.

Maybe something in the machines BIOS needs changed.

Try burning the image to CD/DVD at a slower rate.

Not sure what else to suggest.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

basact
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2021 4:18 pm

Re: Installing Amahi on Brand New Dell but Error

Postby basact » Tue Jan 12, 2021 8:55 pm

Don't know what the issue could be.

Maybe something in the machines BIOS needs changed.

Try burning the image to CD/DVD at a slower rate.

Not sure what else to suggest.
I got the same issue mentioned in wikie (https://wiki.amahi.org/index.php/Instal ... leshooting) but not sure what the solution means in https://www.happyassassin.net/posts/201 ... k-writers/

basact
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2021 4:18 pm

Re: Installing Amahi on Brand New Dell but Error

Postby basact » Tue Jan 12, 2021 9:47 pm

Don't know what the issue could be.

Maybe something in the machines BIOS needs changed.

Try burning the image to CD/DVD at a slower rate.

Not sure what else to suggest.
Somehow I was able to get to the installation summary but I can't select the installation destination as the local hard drive is missing. Any suggestion?

basact
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2021 4:18 pm

Re: Installing Amahi on Brand New Dell but Error

Postby basact » Wed Jan 13, 2021 1:04 pm

Don't know what the issue could be.

Maybe something in the machines BIOS needs changed.

Try burning the image to CD/DVD at a slower rate.

Not sure what else to suggest.
I was able to install it but now the new issue is the size of the hard drive. I have 700 gb hard drive but it's only showing 48 gb.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11837
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Installing Amahi on Brand New Dell but Error

Postby bigfoot65 » Wed Jan 13, 2021 6:47 pm

Did you follow the instructions?

It tells you to not create a /home partition.

Since you decided to add another post for the same issue, marking this on as closed.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests