Can't do manual install of plex...

wyzard
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 11:46 am

Re: Can't do manual install of plex...

Postby wyzard » Thu Mar 30, 2017 12:19 pm

Seems like i might have to do a fresh install of 9. How would I do this without loosing my movies, music, etc. Also running greyhole.

Thanks

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11355
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Can't do manual install of plex...

Postby bigfoot65 » Thu Mar 30, 2017 1:30 pm

The HDA OS Migration Guide might help. The F21 script should work fine for Fedora 23.

Basically disconnect the Greyhole drives. Also data in any shares not Grehole-enabled would need backed up.

Then reinstall and follow guidance from the Reconnect existing Greyhole storage pool guidance.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

wyzard
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 11:46 am

Re: Can't do manual install of plex...

Postby wyzard » Sun Apr 02, 2017 7:18 am

Good morning.

I'm following the migration instructions per your recommendation, however, I'm unable to download the Fedora 21 script so I can get the info on my Greyhole drives for entering after a reinstall. I get a message that says name or service not know and unable to resolve host address.

Any suggestions so I can continue?

Also, do I need to reinstall fedora 23 before doing the amahi install? I'm assuming this would lead to a "cleaner" reinstallation, but just want to be sure.

Thanks.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11355
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Can't do manual install of plex...

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun Apr 02, 2017 8:59 am

Try here.

Also a new Fedora 23 install is required.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

wyzard
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 11:46 am

Re: Can't do manual install of plex...

Postby wyzard » Sun Apr 02, 2017 11:33 am

Thanks... Not really a linux guru, so how do it get that form my Windows PC to my linus root directory?

Thanks again for all the help.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11355
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Can't do manual install of plex...

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun Apr 02, 2017 12:11 pm

Follow the wiki. I updated the guidance to use the new link.

It shows how to get it on your HDA via command line.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

wyzard
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 11:46 am

Re: Can't do manual install of plex...

Postby wyzard » Sun Apr 02, 2017 1:03 pm

Which wiki?

I'm able to get to my HDA using putty but not sure how to get the file you suggested from my windows laptop to the root of my amahi server..

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11355
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Can't do manual install of plex...

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun Apr 02, 2017 3:23 pm

HDA OS Migration guide in the #Amahi wiki. You will download the script directly to your HDA.

The guidance there will help with command line.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

wyzard
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 11:46 am

Re: Can't do manual install of plex...

Postby wyzard » Sun Apr 02, 2017 3:46 pm

Thanks.

Unfortunately I'm unable to download it directly that way too...

I can download it to my PC. What command can I use to copy it from there to my server in the root directory to continue with the install?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11355
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Can't do manual install of plex...

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun Apr 02, 2017 4:02 pm

Why can't you download it?

I tested it and works fine for me.

Did you copy the command from the wiki or manually type it in?

The command should be:

Code: Select all

wget "https://drive.google.com/uc?export=download&id=0B64TOKt5XksaUDZRODFtM2ZHZDg" -O f21_hda_migration.sh
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest