SOLVED: Cannot login to http://hda for first time

forseti
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 2:36 pm

SOLVED: Cannot login to http://hda for first time

Postby forseti » Tue Oct 06, 2015 2:56 pm

Hello

I'm after fresh install of Amahi on Fedora 21. I followed the instruction and I can reach http://hda but cannot log in. I'm presented an "Amahi initialization" form with Username, Password and Password confirmation. When I enter the data and submit the form I'm taken to a page that says:


The Dashboard has encountered an exception!
Woopsie. Sorry about that!
It could be due to a bug, or very low memory, or very low disk in the root (/) partition.
If your disk or memory are not critical, it's likely a bug.
If this persists, please file a bug report with as much detail as you can.
You will be redirected to a debug page with more information shortly.

Still, after a while I'm taken to the start page again - not to the debug page.
I checked and:
df -h says I have free 46G on / partition.
free -h says I have 1.2G free memory

I used standard (automatic) partitioning on cleared disk and minimal F21 installation. During installation I created one user with admin rights and the root wasn't given a password. I switched off the router's DHCP and HDA is able to browse the Internet (I installed links). It is also visible as running from amahi.org/users control panel.

I'm connecting to HDA box from Ubuntu client box using WiFi set to DHCP. From client I'm able to access both the HDA's console and Internet.

Please help me overcome this problem. If you need more data I'll be glad to provide it. If it turns out that it's a bug, I'll fill the ticket - for now I just want to know if it's some mistake on my side or not.

Regards,
Marcin

forseti
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 2:36 pm

Re: Cannot login to http://hda for first time

Postby forseti » Tue Oct 06, 2015 3:18 pm

OK, I've found a bug #1599. I can see cpg asked OP to post the output of tail command and that's the end of conversation.
So I checked the file with mc's editor and it seems I pinpointed the error.

It seems that Mysql encountered error due to incorrect string value (tried to insert a 'ź' character as a part of my surname).
See for yourself please, I've fpasted it to http://ur1.ca/nxmu2

Regards,
Marcin

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11830
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Cannot login to http://hda for first time

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue Oct 06, 2015 4:59 pm

Would you please submit a new bug report and choose Platform.

Provide the fpaste URl along with all the details of the issue, whether it's a new install or upgrade from Amahi 7, and include your name (special chars and all) that led to this issue.

We would love to resolve this issue. Our developer has a potential work around for you and will add it to the bug report once you have submitted it.

Thanks for helping sort this one out.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

forseti
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 2:36 pm

Re: Cannot login to http://hda for first time

Postby forseti » Wed Oct 07, 2015 1:23 am

OK, I'll post a bug report once I return home from work.

However, I'd like to solve this issue as soon as possible. Would it help if I change the name for the admin user? How it can be done? I'm not that versed in Linux command line tools :)

Regards,
Marcin

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2610
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Cannot login to http://hda for first time

Postby cpg » Wed Oct 07, 2015 5:22 am

Can you not use the accent in the initialization page?

That will get you going. We'd still like to support this in the future, though and a bug report is best for tracking that!
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

forseti
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 2:36 pm

Re: Cannot login to http://hda for first time

Postby forseti » Wed Oct 07, 2015 11:27 am

Hello again,

I've submitted a bug 1851.
I hope you'll be able to remedy the issue soon.
Feel free to contact me for further information and testing.

As for question cpg asked:
> Can you not use the accent in the initialization page?
Username I defined during Fedora's installation is "forseti". It was full name I provided (Marcin Paździora) that causes an issue. I changed this "ź" to "z" for now with "usermod -c" command and it seems it worked.

Regards,
Marcin

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11830
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Cannot login to http://hda for first time

Postby bigfoot65 » Wed Oct 07, 2015 6:13 pm

Is this issue resolved for you? If so, we will close it.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

forseti
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 2:36 pm

Re: Cannot login to http://hda for first time

Postby forseti » Thu Oct 08, 2015 3:15 am

Yes, I can live with this temporary solution, no problem. Sure, you can close it here, I'll follow my bug report - I've already posted some remarks.

Regards, Marcin

anturaju93
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 3:03 am

Re: SOLVED: Cannot login to http://hda for first time

Postby anturaju93 » Wed May 25, 2016 3:05 am

I have the same problem, can't login.
Image

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11830
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: SOLVED: Cannot login to http://hda for first time

Postby bigfoot65 » Wed May 25, 2016 4:15 pm

You may not have noticed, but this thread is closed. It's best to start a new one.

Also since you submitted bug 2061, we will continue dialogue there.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests