Install trouble!!

samelfer

Install trouble!!

Postby samelfer » Fri Jan 08, 2010 4:19 pm

Seem to be making a colossal mess of this install...

Just started again, fresh install of Fedora 12 (full dvd), amahi seems to load ok, but then freezes at 57% complete, whilst initializing MySQL. It's done it three times now, tried to manually install packages, but still does the same thing. I'm a complete noob at this, so hope it's an easy fix :-)

Any help much much appreciated!

cpg
Administrator

Re: Install trouble!!

Postby cpg » Mon Jan 11, 2010 1:18 am

I think you came to the IRC? How did your installer end up?

We have seen a couple of cases of the installer "stalling" ... however, we're not sure why. We routinely see many more installs that work.

One possibility is that the updates from the desktop tool are interfering perhaps?

The installer does try to stop those updates.

You can try to stop the tool with the desktop applet (top bar, towards the right) to see if progress is being made faster.

If you find any insights, we'd like to know what's going on, so please share!
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

samelfer

Postby samelfer » Sat Jan 16, 2010 1:59 pm

Thanks for the response, I just can't seem to get past the install phase - very frustrating!!

Anyone else come up against/resolved a similar issue?

Thanks,

Sam

bigfoot65
Project Manager

Postby bigfoot65 » Sat Jan 16, 2010 3:29 pm

I have a few questions for you:

1. Did you do Fedora 12 updates prior to installing Amahi?
2. Is it 32 or 64 bit?
3. How fast is your internet connection?

Once I know a bit more, I may be able to help you resolve your issues.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

samelfer

Postby samelfer » Mon Jan 18, 2010 9:04 am

Hi there,

Thanks for the message.

To answer your questions: