HDA not acquiring static IP

batoum
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 3:53 am

HDA not acquiring static IP

Postby batoum » Mon May 25, 2020 11:42 am

Hi
I have the following error when creating an Amahi 11 server on my Proliant when I install use the normal method as well as from installing Fedora 27 followed by Amahi. This is not my first Amahi server, btw.

The server has two NICs eno1 and eno2 with only one connected. After install, the connected NIC gets an IP address via my router's IP while the second one is allowed a static IP that corresponds to my amahi setup.

This is what I get when i type in "IP addr show"

Code: Select all

1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000 link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00 inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever inet6 ::1/128 scope host valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever 2: eno1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state UP group default qlen 1000 link/ether 3c:a8:2a:9f:62:04 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff inet 192.168.0.169/24 brd 192.168.0.255 scope global dynamic eno1 valid_lft 80117sec preferred_lft 80117sec inet6 fe80::f449:d437:e868:79ff/64 scope link valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever 3: eno2: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state DOWN group default qlen 1000 link/ether 3c:a8:2a:9f:62:05 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff inet 192.168.0.73/24 brd 192.168.0.255 scope global eno2 valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever inet6 fe80::fd76:c2be:b8c1:b157/64 scope link tentative valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever 4: docker0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state DOWN group default link/ether 02:42:02:02:91:d3 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff inet 172.17.0.1/16 scope global docker0 valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
When I nano the config files in /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ for each interface, I get the following

eno1:

Code: Select all

TYPE=Ethernet PROXY_METHOD=none BROWSER_ONLY=no BOOTPROTO=dhcp DEFROUTE=yes IPV4_FAILURE_FATAL=no IPV6INIT=yes IPV6_AUTOCONF=yes IPV6_DEFROUTE=yes IPV6_FAILURE_FATAL=no IPV6_ADDR_GEN_MODE=stable-privacy NAME=eno1 UUID=dd236dc2-47ac-3169-bdec-e961c129ed6a ONBOOT=yes AUTOCONNECT_PRIORITY=-999 DEVICE=eno1 PROXY_METHOD=none BROWSER_ONLY=no
and the following for eno2:

Code: Select all

TYPE=Ethernet PROXY_METHOD=none BROWSER_ONLY=no BOOTPROTO=none DEFROUTE=yes IPV4_FAILURE_FATAL=no IPV6INIT=yes IPV6_AUTOCONF=yes IPV6_DEFROUTE=yes IPV6_FAILURE_FATAL=no IPV6_ADDR_GEN_MODE=stable-privacy NAME=eno2 UUID=7e0eda0e-0fac-37d5-bd4d-96772f656d6a ONBOOT=yes AUTOCONNECT_PRIORITY=-999 DEVICE=eno2 IPADDR=192.168.0.73 PREFIX=24 GATEWAY=192.168.0.1 DNS1=208.67.222.222 DNS2=208.67.220.220
To solve this, I flipped the configurations (i.e. in eno1, i changed teh BootProto to none and copied the lines from IPADDR down in eno2. When I booted it up, the server is now on the assigned static IP

Two questions
1. Is there any other setting changes that i need to worry about?
2. What is the docker interface that was installed by Fedora?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11866
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: HDA not acquiring static IP

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon May 25, 2020 7:14 pm

The server has two NICs eno1 and eno2 with only one connected. After install, the connected NIC gets an IP address via my router's IP while the second one is allowed a static IP that corresponds to my amahi setup.
I presume you noted in the requirements that only one network device is supported.
1. Is there any other setting changes that i need to worry about?
I am not aware of anything that might be an issue at this time.
2. What is the docker interface that was installed by Fedora?
It is a container application that is not implemented in Amahi 11. You can remove it if you want:

Code: Select all

sudo dnf remove docker*
Obviously you are a bit more experienced at Linux and Amahi than most, so what you have modified should be ok.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

batoum
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 3:53 am

Re: HDA not acquiring static IP

Postby batoum » Tue May 26, 2020 1:24 pm

Thanks
I did know about the one NIC. This is my third (fourth?) installation of Amahi on this box and never found this issue. It *seems* that when Fedora installs, it sets up the device to get an IP from dhcp and then the amahi installation sets up the fixed IP on the next available NIC rather than override the first NIC. But that is conjecture... I wanted to share in case it helps. It does seem that someone else reported a similar bug (https://bugs.amahi.org/issues/2384). Hope this helps

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11866
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: HDA not acquiring static IP

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue May 26, 2020 4:41 pm

Kinda figured you were an Amahi veteran.

You can control nic and ip during Fedora install.

I typically set a static IP and domain name there. Amahi aligns with it no problem.

I presume we can mark this closed.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests