CLOSED: Not using HDA for DNS but no clue why.

rpiazza
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 5:13 pm

CLOSED: Not using HDA for DNS but no clue why.

Postby rpiazza » Thu Oct 11, 2018 7:22 pm

I have installed Amahi 10, I had to reinstall because I fouled up my partitions. Solved that problem. I tried to use Fedora 27 and Amahi 11 in my reinstall but that just didn't work, server was not functional at all. Fedora 25 and Amahi 10 work no problem. However my HDA constantly says when I log in, that it is not being used for DNS. Deactivated the setting I know about in my router. All my apps with the exception of Nextcloud 11 work just fine, I have networked drives on my windows machine and my backups are stored there. It seems to be working, all the apps do what there supposed to when I go to their pages, except for Nextcloud, but I keep getting this message. I used the troubleshooter and step 7 Not really sure what to do next. Step 7: Your HDA DNS server is NOT working for external hostnames is where I get stuck. Posted in the IRC channel but wasn't a chatty night : ) Here is the text I got from the commands suggested in that step. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Ramsey

[root@hda ~]# systemctl status dnsmasq
● dnsmasq.service - DNS caching server.
Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/dnsmasq.service; enabled; vendor pres
Active: active (running) since Thu 2018-10-11 19:57:20 EDT; 1h 52min ago
Main PID: 9655 (dnsmasq)
Tasks: 1 (limit: 4915)
CGroup: /system.slice/dnsmasq.service
└─9655 /usr/sbin/dnsmasq -k

Oct 11 21:41:58 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPREQUEST(enp2s0) 192.168.1.
Oct 11 21:41:58 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPACK(enp2s0) 192.168.1.109
Oct 11 21:42:03 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPREQUEST(enp2s0) 192.168.1.
Oct 11 21:42:03 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPACK(enp2s0) 192.168.1.109
Oct 11 21:42:37 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPREQUEST(enp2s0) 192.168.1.
Oct 11 21:42:37 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPACK(enp2s0) 192.168.1.134
Oct 11 21:43:05 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPINFORM(enp2s0) 192.168.1.1
Oct 11 21:43:05 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPACK(enp2s0) 192.168.1.189
Oct 11 21:44:14 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPINFORM(enp2s0) 192.168.1.1
Oct 11 21:44:14 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPACK(enp2s0) 192.168.1.189
...skipping...
● dnsmasq.service - DNS caching server.
~

● dnsmasq.service - DNS caching server.
Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/dnsmasq.service; enabled; vendor pres
...skipping...

~
● dnsmasq.service - DNS caching server.
● dnsmasq.service - DNS caching server.
● dnsmasq.service - DNS caching server.
Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/dnsmasq.service; enabled; vendor pres
Active: active (running) since Thu 2018-10-11 19:57:20 EDT; 1h 52min ago
Main PID: 9655 (dnsmasq)
Tasks: 1 (limit: 4915)
CGroup: /system.slice/dnsmasq.service
└─9655 /usr/sbin/dnsmasq -k

Oct 11 21:41:58 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPREQUEST(enp2s0) 192.168.1.
Oct 11 21:41:58 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPACK(enp2s0) 192.168.1.109
Oct 11 21:42:03 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPREQUEST(enp2s0) 192.168.1.
Oct 11 21:42:03 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPACK(enp2s0) 192.168.1.109
Oct 11 21:42:37 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPREQUEST(enp2s0) 192.168.1.
Oct 11 21:42:37 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPACK(enp2s0) 192.168.1.134
Oct 11 21:43:05 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPINFORM(enp2s0) 192.168.1.1
Oct 11 21:43:05 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPACK(enp2s0) 192.168.1.189
Oct 11 21:44:14 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPINFORM(enp2s0) 192.168.1.1
Oct 11 21:44:14 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPACK(enp2s0) 192.168.1.189
~
...skipping...
~

● dnsmasq.service - DNS caching server.
Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/dnsmasq.service; enabled; vendor pres
Active: active (running) since Thu 2018-10-11 19:57:20 EDT; 1h 52min ago
Main PID: 9655 (dnsmasq)
Tasks: 1 (limit: 4915)
CGroup: /system.slice/dnsmasq.service
└─9655 /usr/sbin/dnsmasq -k

Oct 11 21:41:58 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPREQUEST(enp2s0) 192.168.1.
Oct 11 21:41:58 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPACK(enp2s0) 192.168.1.109
Oct 11 21:42:03 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPREQUEST(enp2s0) 192.168.1.
Oct 11 21:42:03 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPACK(enp2s0) 192.168.1.109
Oct 11 21:42:37 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPREQUEST(enp2s0) 192.168.1.
Oct 11 21:42:37 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPACK(enp2s0) 192.168.1.134
Oct 11 21:43:05 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPINFORM(enp2s0) 192.168.1.1
Oct 11 21:43:05 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPACK(enp2s0) 192.168.1.189
Oct 11 21:44:14 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPINFORM(enp2s0) 192.168.1.1
Oct 11 21:44:14 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPACK(enp2s0) 192.168.1.189
...skipping...
~
● dnsmasq.service - DNS caching server.
Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/dnsmasq.service; enabled; vendor pres
Active: active (running) since Thu 2018-10-11 19:57:20 EDT; 1h 52min ago
Main PID: 9655 (dnsmasq)
Tasks: 1 (limit: 4915)
CGroup: /system.slice/dnsmasq.service
└─9655 /usr/sbin/dnsmasq -k

Oct 11 21:41:58 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPREQUEST(enp2s0) 192.168.1.
Oct 11 21:41:58 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPACK(enp2s0) 192.168.1.109
Oct 11 21:42:03 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPREQUEST(enp2s0) 192.168.1.
Oct 11 21:42:03 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPACK(enp2s0) 192.168.1.109
Oct 11 21:42:37 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPREQUEST(enp2s0) 192.168.1.
Oct 11 21:42:37 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPACK(enp2s0) 192.168.1.134
Oct 11 21:43:05 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPINFORM(enp2s0) 192.168.1.1
Oct 11 21:43:05 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPACK(enp2s0) 192.168.1.189
Oct 11 21:44:14 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPINFORM(enp2s0) 192.168.1.1
Oct 11 21:44:14 hda.amahi.net dnsmasq-dhcp[9655]: DHCPACK(enp2s0) 192.168.1.189
~
[root@hda ~]# nslookup amahi.org
Server: 192.168.1.10
Address: 192.168.1.10#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: amahi.org
Address: 66.165.251.199

[root@hda ~]# nslookup amhi.org 208.67.222.222
Server: 208.67.222.222
Address: 208.67.222.222#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: amhi.org
Address: 50.63.202.88

[root@hda ~]# traceroute -q 1 208.67.222.222
-bash: traceroute: command not found
[root@hda ~]#

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11063
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Not using HDA for DNS but no clue why.

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:30 am

Is there more than one DHCP and DNS server in your network?

Did you renew the DHCP lease on your client?

Check that it's getting both the DHCP and DNS from the HDA.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

rpiazza
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 5:13 pm

Re: Not using HDA for DNS but no clue why.

Postby rpiazza » Fri Oct 12, 2018 3:56 pm

Is there more than one DHCP and DNS server in your network?
I got rid of my modem that had a DHCP and DNS server I have no idea where another could be in my systme. I want througgh every setting of my router and took care of it. Before I deactivated the router no app would lead to the HDA. After I switched the setting on the router off the pages worked as their supposed to but I still get this message.

Did you renew the DHCP lease on your client?
After I switched off the DHCP and DNS server on the router I turned it off and restarted. My devices would have to be looking to the HDA for their ip addresses.

Check that it's getting both the DHCP and DNS from the HDA.
From what I know that appears to be the case. After the router settings were changed the app pages worked. The server appears to be doing what it should be doing with the exception of the message telling me it isn't being used for DNS. It works the way its supposed to work I'm not really seeing a problem. I'd like to definitively solve it but aside for the server telling there's a problem I'm not really seeing one. The rest of my devices are smart phones, a smart tv, I really don't see aside from the router what else could be interfering.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11063
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Not using HDA for DNS but no clue why.

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Oct 12, 2018 4:22 pm

What I meant about the browser cache is sometimes it gets corrupt and causes issues.

As long as it works for you, that’s all that matters.

The only other option is to try resetting your entire network. Means shutting all things down, then starting back up with modem, router, HDA, then a single client. Use that machine to make sure all things are working, then start all other devices.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

rpiazza
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 5:13 pm

Re: Not using HDA for DNS but no clue why.

Postby rpiazza » Fri Oct 12, 2018 5:27 pm

Thanks for the clarification. I have thought about doing a full restart of the network. I do have a number of devices and maybe there some other device in the mix. Thanks for the suggestion. At some point I think I'll do that to satisfy my curiosity. I do like to tinker and get to the bottom of things.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11063
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Not using HDA for DNS but no clue why.

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Oct 12, 2018 8:04 pm

Should we call this one closed as well?

Seems like we have resolved most of your challenges.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

rpiazza
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 5:13 pm

Re: Not using HDA for DNS but no clue why.

Postby rpiazza » Fri Oct 12, 2018 8:33 pm

Yeah I think we are good here to my server is up and running and doing what I wanted, I have the Wiki to read through for more info. This issue is resolved.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11063
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Not using HDA for DNS but no clue why.

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Oct 12, 2018 9:43 pm

Sounds good.

Marking as closed.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest