hda-install unattended flag?

User avatar
sgtfoo
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:27 pm

hda-install unattended flag?

Postby sgtfoo » Sat Sep 02, 2017 12:40 pm

Is there a flag in the hda-install command to allow for an unattended install with an Amahi code, that either reboots or doesn't reboot after completion?

When I checked

Code: Select all

hda-install --help
It just shows the flags..

Code: Select all

-V -f -s -d -r -D -h -n -w -m -o -y -q -i VAL -p
Is there documentation for this? And is the code on Github for me to take the docs and improve the --help output?

Thanks, gents!
SgtFoo
HDA: VM inside oVirt FX-8300 95w (2 cores for HDA), 32GB RAM (2GB for HDA)
My PC: FX-8300, 16GB RAM, 3x 1TB HDDs, Radeon HD6970 2GB video; Win10 Pro x64
Other: PC, Asus 1215n (LXLE), Debian openZFS server (3x(2x2tb) mirrors)
Modem&Network: Thomson DCM475; Asus RT-AC66U; HP 1800-24G switch

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2600
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: hda-install unattended flag?

Postby cpg » Sat Sep 02, 2017 4:57 pm

hda-install without any argument gives some helpful usage info. Unfortunately, it looks like we used -h for httpd reconfiguration and we have -r for some arcane ruby exclusion, which may have been a good option for rebooting at the end. Maybe use -y option (for answering "yes" at the end about the reboot ... it would be in line with Unix style of options).

It should not be too hard to add. The code is here.
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

User avatar
sgtfoo
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:27 pm

Re: hda-install unattended flag?

Postby sgtfoo » Sat Sep 02, 2017 6:56 pm

Awesome!
Thanks!

Looks like -q (quit and no prompt for reboot) is what I need.
SgtFoo
HDA: VM inside oVirt FX-8300 95w (2 cores for HDA), 32GB RAM (2GB for HDA)
My PC: FX-8300, 16GB RAM, 3x 1TB HDDs, Radeon HD6970 2GB video; Win10 Pro x64
Other: PC, Asus 1215n (LXLE), Debian openZFS server (3x(2x2tb) mirrors)
Modem&Network: Thomson DCM475; Asus RT-AC66U; HP 1800-24G switch

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11296
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: hda-install unattended flag?

Postby bigfoot65 » Sat Sep 02, 2017 7:13 pm

We should add this info to the wiki.

So if I understand correctly:

Code: Select all

hda-install CODE -q
Does the install then reboots the machine?
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2600
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: hda-install unattended flag?

Postby cpg » Sat Sep 02, 2017 11:52 pm

This is probably not worthy of adding to the wiki (too obscure/rare, and it's self documenting). I think it's it's

Code: Select all

hda-install <options> CODE
i.e.
usage: hda-install [options] YOUR_INSTALL_CODE
options:
-f: force
-r: exclude ruby install
-h: reconfigure httpd
-s: reconfigure samba
-d: reconfigure db
-n: reconfigure network settings
-m: reconfigure monit
-o: disable SELinux and firewall (does not need install code)
-D: debug output
-q: quit after done, do not wait asking for the user input to reboot
-i device: use this interface for networking (default: eth0)
-p: VPS mode
-V: version
ps: looks like CODE formatting in the forum is borked. the above should be ~15 lines below (i had to use QUOTE above, which kind of works):

Code: Select all

usage: hda-install [options] YOUR_INSTALL_CODE options: -f: force -r: exclude ruby install -h: reconfigure httpd -s: reconfigure samba -d: reconfigure db -n: reconfigure network settings -m: reconfigure monit -o: disable SELinux and firewall (does not need install code) -D: debug output -q: quit after done, do not wait asking for the user input to reboot -i device: use this interface for networking (default: eth0) -p: VPS mode -V: version
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

User avatar
sgtfoo
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:27 pm

Re: hda-install unattended flag?

Postby sgtfoo » Mon Sep 04, 2017 1:45 pm

We should add this info to the wiki.

So if I understand correctly:

Code: Select all

hda-install CODE -q
Does the install then reboots the machine?

It's to exit the installer after completion and not reboot.
SgtFoo
HDA: VM inside oVirt FX-8300 95w (2 cores for HDA), 32GB RAM (2GB for HDA)
My PC: FX-8300, 16GB RAM, 3x 1TB HDDs, Radeon HD6970 2GB video; Win10 Pro x64
Other: PC, Asus 1215n (LXLE), Debian openZFS server (3x(2x2tb) mirrors)
Modem&Network: Thomson DCM475; Asus RT-AC66U; HP 1800-24G switch

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests