Partitioning scheme for Fedora and Amahi

User avatar
moredruid
Expert
Posts: 791
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 1:33 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Partitioning scheme for Fedora and Amahi

Postby moredruid » Sun Jan 25, 2009 12:56 pm

heh, saw that in the faq or some post already...

I did sort it out different though:
I moved some stuff in the /var/hda directory around and changed the mount point of the logical volume from /var/hda/files to /var/hda. then I copied some stuff back and it worked.

anyway, with everything sorted alright I set out to do some backups, and that worked great, BUT...

during the backup process I heard a lot of clicking noises from my drive (got it last tuesday)... so I ran smartctl (SMART monitoring tool for disks) and after that the Seagate linux cli-tool, during which I received a very nice I/O error and lots of clickies and an unresponsive server... the drive is DOA :? :shock:
I'm going to RMA it tomorrow, luckily I've also ordered a 1TB disk which should come in tomorrow (it was on sale, I couldn't resist for that kind of money), so I'll probably be up and running again soon.

When I get my RMA'd drive/replacement I can do my thingy and extend my VG & LV as planned, and I'll have a nice 1,5TB storage available...
echo '16i[q]sa[ln0=aln100%Pln100/snlbx]sbA0D2173656C7572206968616D41snlbxq' | dc
Galileo - HP Proliant ML110 G6 quad core Xeon 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 2x750GB RAID1 + 2x1TB RAID1 HDD

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2610
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Partitioning scheme for Fedora and Amahi

Postby cpg » Sun Jan 25, 2009 1:55 pm

ouch. :cry:

we should fix pba to use the /var/hda/files area, as that is really a lot of storage being used by backups and putting all the data-heavy stuff in one place is The Right Thing to do.

now, if we could only get patches for this, it would speed things up ;)
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

User avatar
relrobber
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 10:01 pm
Location: Searcy, AR
Contact:

Re: Partitioning scheme for Fedora and Amahi

Postby relrobber » Sun Jan 25, 2009 11:18 pm

hmm...isnt' Seagate the company that's having firmware problems w/ their drives right now? i dont think that's the kind of porblem ur having, but maybe we should stay away from them for awhile.
Home HDA: Sony VAIO PCV-RX560, 1.7GHz P4, 320MB RAM

Managed HDA: 512MB RAM

User avatar
moredruid
Expert
Posts: 791
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 1:33 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Partitioning scheme for Fedora and Amahi

Postby moredruid » Mon Jan 26, 2009 1:38 am

yeah I'd already read a lot about that, which is why I opted for the 750GB disk instead of the 1TB disk, the 1 & 1.5 TB disks seem to be affected most with this.

I noticed that there was a pretty old firmware loaded on the drive (SD15, SD19 or SD20 is current) so I wanted to update it but the disk died before I could do that *sniff* Anyway I think that this is just a case of DOA and doesn't have to do anything with the firmware since the drive clicked from the beginning.

The 1TB I ordered is a Samsung drive, I'm curious on how that one is going to be.
echo '16i[q]sa[ln0=aln100%Pln100/snlbx]sbA0D2173656C7572206968616D41snlbxq' | dc
Galileo - HP Proliant ML110 G6 quad core Xeon 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 2x750GB RAID1 + 2x1TB RAID1 HDD

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2610
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Partitioning scheme for Fedora and Amahi

Postby cpg » Mon Jan 26, 2009 5:33 pm

i recently like the 'green" disks from WD (Western Digital), as they run at lo power *and* low temperature.

low temperature makes the long term reliability to go up.
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests