CLOSED: Application error : Rails application failed to start properly

User avatar
sgtfoo
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:27 pm

CLOSED: Application error : Rails application failed to start properly

Postby sgtfoo » Mon Jun 20, 2016 11:45 am

I upgraded from From Fedora 21 to 23, Amahi 8 to 9, and the system has upgraded and I tried hda install *code* and the system does nothing after it, and the webpage for the HDA now gives me:
Application error

Rails application failed to start properly
Could I just get a hint on which logs to get a look at to try and fix? or has anyone else seen this already?
SgtFoo
HDA: VM inside oVirt FX-8300 95w (2 cores for HDA), 32GB RAM (2GB for HDA)
My PC: FX-8300, 16GB RAM, 3x 1TB HDDs, Radeon HD6970 2GB video; Win10 Pro x64
Other: PC, Asus 1215n (LXLE), Debian openZFS server (3x(2x2tb) mirrors)
Modem&Network: Thomson DCM475; Asus RT-AC66U; HP 1800-24G switch

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11191
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Application error : Rails application failed to start properly

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon Jun 20, 2016 5:57 pm

It was suggested that you post the HDA production.log as a start.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2596
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Application error : Rails application failed to start properly

Postby cpg » Mon Jun 20, 2016 7:55 pm

To be clear,

Code: Select all

/var/hda/platform/html/log/production.log
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

User avatar
sgtfoo
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:27 pm

Re: Application error : Rails application failed to start properly

Postby sgtfoo » Mon Jun 20, 2016 8:51 pm

I hope this is enough, being a 500 line tail..

https://paste.fedoraproject.org/382399/80887146/
SgtFoo
HDA: VM inside oVirt FX-8300 95w (2 cores for HDA), 32GB RAM (2GB for HDA)
My PC: FX-8300, 16GB RAM, 3x 1TB HDDs, Radeon HD6970 2GB video; Win10 Pro x64
Other: PC, Asus 1215n (LXLE), Debian openZFS server (3x(2x2tb) mirrors)
Modem&Network: Thomson DCM475; Asus RT-AC66U; HP 1800-24G switch

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2596
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Application error : Rails application failed to start properly

Postby cpg » Mon Jun 20, 2016 9:18 pm

There are no errors *and* you were able to login and see apps available, etc.
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

User avatar
sgtfoo
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:27 pm

Re: Application error : Rails application failed to start properly

Postby sgtfoo » Tue Jun 21, 2016 6:36 pm

I assure you that is not the case...
This is the IP of my HDA showing in Chrome...

Are there other logs that might be more indicative?
amahi-rails-errore.PNG
amahi-rails-errore.PNG (57.72 KiB) Viewed 1344 times
SgtFoo
HDA: VM inside oVirt FX-8300 95w (2 cores for HDA), 32GB RAM (2GB for HDA)
My PC: FX-8300, 16GB RAM, 3x 1TB HDDs, Radeon HD6970 2GB video; Win10 Pro x64
Other: PC, Asus 1215n (LXLE), Debian openZFS server (3x(2x2tb) mirrors)
Modem&Network: Thomson DCM475; Asus RT-AC66U; HP 1800-24G switch

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2596
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Application error : Rails application failed to start properly

Postby cpg » Wed Jun 22, 2016 12:16 am

take this line:

Code: Select all

Started GET "/tab/apps/installed" for 192.168.1.99 at 2016-06-20 11:38:42 -0400
someone at 192.168.1.99 accessed the apps installed on 2016-06-20 11:38:42 -0400 ..

who can that be.

still, no errors in that log at all.
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

User avatar
sgtfoo
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:27 pm

Re: Application error : Rails application failed to start properly

Postby sgtfoo » Wed Jun 22, 2016 5:40 am

That time was before I was upgraded to Fedora 23/Amahi9

When I ran
install hda {code}
nothing happened.

Are we still looking at a reinstall of Fedora to solve this?

It appears that Rails fails to put the page out to apache... My screenshot shows it's failing.
Rails is not my forte, so I'd appreciate some advice.

Last night I ran a dnf reinstall of everything. Still same error on the HDA page.

Here's a few lines I found in /var/log/httpd ....

Code: Select all

[Tue Jun 21 22:53:59.193585 2016] [core:notice] [pid 2863] AH00094: Command line: '/usr/sbin/httpd -D FOREGROUND' [Tue Jun 21 22:55:35.699047 2016] [mpm_prefork:notice] [pid 2863] AH00170: caught SIGWINCH, shutting down gracefully [Tue Jun 21 22:55:36.978902 2016] [suexec:notice] [pid 24489] AH01232: suEXEC mechanism enabled (wrapper: /usr/sbin/suexec) AH00112: Warning: DocumentRoot [/var/hda/calendar/html] does not exist
And another thing...

The Samba shares haven't come back online either...
(from /var/log/samba)

Code: Select all

standard input is not a socket, assuming -D option DBI connect('database=hda_production;host=localhost','amahihda',...) failed: Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock' (2 "No such file or directory") at /usr/share/hda-platform/hda-usermap line 68. [2016/06/20 10:59:46.471558, 0] ../lib/util/become_daemon.c:136(daemon_ready)
SgtFoo
HDA: VM inside oVirt FX-8300 95w (2 cores for HDA), 32GB RAM (2GB for HDA)
My PC: FX-8300, 16GB RAM, 3x 1TB HDDs, Radeon HD6970 2GB video; Win10 Pro x64
Other: PC, Asus 1215n (LXLE), Debian openZFS server (3x(2x2tb) mirrors)
Modem&Network: Thomson DCM475; Asus RT-AC66U; HP 1800-24G switch

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2596
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Application error : Rails application failed to start properly

Postby cpg » Wed Jun 22, 2016 12:55 pm

It looks like mysql is not running. That needs to be fixed first.

"dnf reinstall everything"?!? That is crazy! It may have broken a lot of stuff!!

If there is no production.log entry for the error, maybe the whole rails stack is busted in some way. Mysql not being there should not prevent errors from bring logged, however, please fix mysql first.
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

User avatar
sgtfoo
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:27 pm

Re: Application error : Rails application failed to start properly

Postby sgtfoo » Fri Jun 24, 2016 5:02 pm

I gave up and rebuilt with Fedora 23 for Amahi 9.
Safe to say the upgrade path isn't clean enough.

Who do I ask to have my name changed for my *.yourhda.com ?
SgtFoo
HDA: VM inside oVirt FX-8300 95w (2 cores for HDA), 32GB RAM (2GB for HDA)
My PC: FX-8300, 16GB RAM, 3x 1TB HDDs, Radeon HD6970 2GB video; Win10 Pro x64
Other: PC, Asus 1215n (LXLE), Debian openZFS server (3x(2x2tb) mirrors)
Modem&Network: Thomson DCM475; Asus RT-AC66U; HP 1800-24G switch

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests