Internet Install

clive
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 11:43 am
Location: Wales, U.K.

Internet Install

Postby clive » Fri Dec 26, 2008 11:45 am

Hi
I have been trying to install for 2 days now. On 3rd DVD burn, and still failed whilst loading packages.
Would it work using the Fedora 'Internet Install' cd, or must it be installed from full DVD ?
TIA
Clive

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2610
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Internet Install

Postby cpg » Fri Dec 26, 2008 12:24 pm

that's strange.

did you check the media with the first check that comes up ?

if so, did the media check ok?

if not, please check the media. some times it helps by burning at much slower speeds than the maximum rated for the DVD.
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

User avatar
relrobber
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 10:01 pm
Location: Searcy, AR
Contact:

Re: Internet Install

Postby relrobber » Fri Dec 26, 2008 1:04 pm

as for the install problems, go w/ cpg's advice, but as far as installing amahi, it shouldn't matter how you install fedora, since you do the fedora install, and then install amahi after.
Home HDA: Sony VAIO PCV-RX560, 1.7GHz P4, 320MB RAM

Managed HDA: 512MB RAM

clive
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 11:43 am
Location: Wales, U.K.

Re: Internet Install

Postby clive » Fri Dec 26, 2008 2:19 pm

if so, did the media check ok?
After the first failure, I checked the media on every attempt. Passed both times.
(Burnt at slowest speed, 2x )
Will try internet install tomorrow
Thanks

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2610
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Internet Install

Postby cpg » Fri Dec 26, 2008 4:13 pm

Wait - Internet Install?

I think that's only available on Fedora 10, no?
(I don't think i have seen that in Fedora 9)

We're only supporting Fedora 9 for now ...
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

clive
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 11:43 am
Location: Wales, U.K.

Re: Internet Install

Postby clive » Fri Dec 26, 2008 4:44 pm

Wait - Internet Install?

I think that's only available on Fedora 10, no?
(I don't think i have seen that in Fedora 9)
I've got a Fedora-9-i386-netinst.iso, so that should be ok.
Will give it a try anyway.
(Would be useful to know if it works)

Thanks

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2610
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Internet Install

Postby cpg » Fri Dec 26, 2008 6:32 pm

ah, ok. i think f10 does it without an extra image (i.e. in the default dvd one), and i got confused.
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

clive
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 11:43 am
Location: Wales, U.K.

Re: Internet Install

Postby clive » Sat Dec 27, 2008 7:52 am

All working.
Problem was, I think, the old hardware I was using. Swapped out the DVD drive for another, and install worked great.
Now to have fun !
Thanks for your help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests