Upgrade Fedora 14 to 16 is fine, but [SOLVED works great!]

bigmango
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 11:36 am

Upgrade Fedora 14 to 16 is fine, but [SOLVED works great!]

Postby bigmango » Mon May 21, 2012 10:50 am

I have upgraded my production HDA from Fedora 14 to Fedora 16 (with "yum -y --releasever=16 --disableplugin=presto distro-sync").

I got everything working as it was with Fedora 14 (latest versions of minidlna, sabnzbd, utorrent server, VNC, greyhole, etc...) (by the way, the wiki needs to be updated, some information is not valid for Fedora 16 anymore (VNC,...).

The only problem is the Amahi web UI. Something's wrong with the packages in the Amahi F16 repo.http://hda shows:

Code: Select all

Application error Rails application failed to start properly
/var/log/httpd/error_log shows:

Code: Select all

*** Phusion Passenger: no passenger_native_support.so found for the current Ruby interpreter. Compil ing one... # mkdir -p /usr/lib/ruby/gems/1.8/gems/passenger-3.0.12/ext/ruby/native # cd /usr/lib/ruby/gems/1.8/gems/passenger-3.0.12/ext/ruby/native # /usr/bin/ruby '/usr/lib/ruby/gems/1.8/gems/passenger-3.0.12/ext/ruby/extconf.rb' /usr/bin/ruby: No such file or directory -- /usr/lib/ruby/gems/1.8/gems/passenger-3.0.12/ext/ruby/ex tconf.rb (LoadError) /usr/lib/ruby/gems/1.8/gems/passenger-3.0.12/lib/phusion_passenger/native_support.rb:124:in `sh': Co uld not compile passenger_native_support.so ('/usr/bin/ruby '/usr/lib/ruby/gems/1.8/gems/passenger-3 .0.12/ext/ruby/extconf.rb'' failed) (RuntimeError)
There seems to be a problem with the package from the Amahi repo, passenger_native_support.so appears to be missing.

The f14 amahi repo has rubygem-passenger-native, this package seems to be missing in the f16 amahi repo (but I get no dependency problem, reinstalling everything hda-suite needs goes well and doesn't show any error).

Could someone please point me to a working rpm?
Last edited by bigmango on Mon May 21, 2012 3:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.

bigmango
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 11:36 am

Re: Upgrade Fedora 14 to 16 is fine, but [SOLVED]

Postby bigmango » Mon May 21, 2012 3:16 pm

Ok, I have fixed the problem.

rubygem-passenger-native is missing in the Amahi Fedora 16 repo. I don't know what the Amahi devs are doing?

This fixes the issue:

Code: Select all

yum install ftp://140.247.115.226/mirrors/passenger/fedora/16/i386/rubygem-passenger-native-3.0.12-1.fc16.i686.rpm ftp://140.247.115.226/mirrors/passenger/fedora/16/i386/rubygem-passenger-3.0.12-1.fc16.i686.rpm
The Fedora 14 to Fedora 16 Amahi upgrade is now working perfectly on my HDA.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11924
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Upgrade Fedora 14 to 16 is fine, but [SOLVED works great

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon May 21, 2012 3:44 pm

Let me clarify, the Amahi devs were not working the upgrade path, only fresh install. I don't feel that comment was justified nor necessary. The fresh install of Fedora 16 was working fine.

Now on a different note, it is likely that Fedora 16 development will be terminated and Fedora 17 will be moving forward. It is due out within the next several days, so anticpate Fedora 16 will be dropped.

We are currently focusing on Ubuntu as it's the closest to being stable. There are some issues with Fedora 17 that need to be worked. Since that will likely take longer than we would like, Ubuntu looks to be the best path.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

apastor
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 6:58 am

Re: Upgrade Fedora 14 to 16 is fine, but [SOLVED works great

Postby apastor » Mon May 21, 2012 3:45 pm

Excellent, I will try this now on my box
Proxmox Server: Currently Not Running Amahi
CPU: AMD FX 6100 Six Core
RAM: 8GB DDR3
HDD: 4x1TB RAID10 (Adaptec)

bigmango
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 11:36 am

Re: Upgrade Fedora 14 to 16 is fine, but [SOLVED works great

Postby bigmango » Mon May 21, 2012 4:36 pm

Excellent, I will try this now on my box
Here's what you need:

1. Do the upgrade:
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=276026 (ignore the wifi part if not on wifi) (beware the missing "--" at point 9: --releasever=16).

2. After 1st reboot there's some services you need to re-enable with systemctl for them to auto start).

For example httpd, mysqld, smb, greyhole, hddtemp:

Code: Select all

systemctl enable httpd.service systemctl start httpd.service systemctl enable mysqld.service systemctl start mysqld.service systemctl enable smb.service systemctl start smb.service systemctl enable greyhole.service systemctl start greyhole.service systemctl enable hddtemp.service systemctl start hddtemp.service
3. hdactl gave an error during the upgrade, because mysql was not running.

So after enabling and starting mysql after the reboot, reinstall hdactl to make sure it's fine:

Code: Select all

yum reinstall hdactl
3. [OPTIONAL] For DLNA, install minidlna 1.0.24 from the rpmfusion repos and copy the conf over (perhaps you need to "yum remove amahi-dlna" first)

Code: Select all

yum install minidlna cp /var/hda/apps/dlna/amahi.conf /etc/minidlna.conf
4. [OPTIONAL] For VNC, the amahi wiki entry is not valid anymore since Fedora 16 and later now use systemd instead of init.d.

Look here for how to get this to work easily on Fedora 16:

Code: Select all

http://www.oracle-base.com/articles/linux/configuring-vnc-server-on-linux.php#systemd
5. after everything is up and running you can remove the remaining old packages (I had about 8) that are left from the old Fedora 14, if it's nothing you installed yourself:

You can list them with (these packages are not connected to a repo anymore):

Code: Select all

yum list extras
And then remove them with:

Code: Select all

yum remove

6. And as explained above, this made the amahi web ui work again:

Code: Select all

yum install ftp://140.247.115.226/mirrors/passenger/fedora/16/i386/rubygem-passenger-native-3.0.12-1.fc16.i686.rpm ftp://140.247.115.226/mirrors/passenger/fedora/16/i386/rubygem-passenger-3.0.12-1.fc16.i686.rpm
7. To get it to shutdown when pressing the power button

Code: Select all

yum remove gnome-power-manager
RESULT:
My HDA is working perfectly on Fedora 16, and slightly faster than before. Especially working on the shares locally (i.ex: remuxing 40Gb blu-ray discs, etc...) is a lot faster (I don't know if it's the new samba, the libs or the new drivers and improvements in kernel 3.3.5). Bootup and fsck is faster aswell.



-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
edit:
Updated point 2 with hddtemp.service. The hddtemp service must be running in order to get the hard drive temperatures monitoring in the amahi web ui.
Last edited by bigmango on Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:06 am, edited 3 times in total.

apastor
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 6:58 am

Re: Upgrade Fedora 14 to 16 is fine, but [SOLVED works great

Postby apastor » Mon May 21, 2012 5:02 pm

Good thing i got side tracked...

thanks for the info. I will follow them (hopefully tonight), and I will let you know.
Proxmox Server: Currently Not Running Amahi
CPU: AMD FX 6100 Six Core
RAM: 8GB DDR3
HDD: 4x1TB RAID10 (Adaptec)

apastor
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 6:58 am

Re: Upgrade Fedora 14 to 16 is fine, but [SOLVED works great

Postby apastor » Mon May 21, 2012 5:06 pm

I guess this will update gnome as well. I have been thinking about removing gnome and installing xfce or LXDE for a desktop.
I do like having a shell on there to run and do things quickly. I also have dropbox and virtualbox installed so its easy to run/manage.

It this all breaks on me, I guess i will be beta testing ubuntu/hda :)
Proxmox Server: Currently Not Running Amahi
CPU: AMD FX 6100 Six Core
RAM: 8GB DDR3
HDD: 4x1TB RAID10 (Adaptec)

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11924
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Upgrade Fedora 14 to 16 is fine, but [SOLVED works great

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon May 21, 2012 5:10 pm

That is not such a bad thing. Not sure if you realize, but very unlikely we will complete Amahi for Fedora 16. We are looking at Fedora 17 once we have Ubuntu stable.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

User avatar
sgtfoo
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:27 pm

Re: Upgrade Fedora 14 to 16 is fine, but [SOLVED works great

Postby sgtfoo » Mon May 21, 2012 5:25 pm

The benefit to using XFCE or even LXDE as the environment is that you waste much less resources on GUI rendering and similar GNOME business. I've made XFCE the default on all my fedora boxes and VMs.

Everything more or less ends up the same; just copy any desktop icons over to you new one.

This news about F16 is good, and so is the news about F17.

If the transition to CentOS is gonna be a long wait, I might just go this route for 16 unless 17 suddenly emerges.

good work!!
SgtFoo
HDA: VM inside oVirt FX-8300 95w (2 cores for HDA), 32GB RAM (2GB for HDA)
My PC: FX-8300, 16GB RAM, 3x 1TB HDDs, Radeon HD6970 2GB video; Win10 Pro x64
Other: PC, Asus 1215n (LXLE), Debian openZFS server (3x(2x2tb) mirrors)
Modem&Network: Thomson DCM475; Asus RT-AC66U; HP 1800-24G switch

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11924
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Upgrade Fedora 14 to 16 is fine, but [SOLVED works great

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon May 21, 2012 5:30 pm

No plans on working CentOS. There was a user working it at one time, but he has since moved on I believe. I have not seen any traction on it in quite some time.

We just don't have the resources to do it ourselves. It's quite a handful with Fedora and now Ubuntu. Good thing about Ubuntu is we have 2 working it vs 1 :)
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 19 guests