Software Raid 5 in Fedora 9 How To?

Twowolves2000

Software Raid 5 in Fedora 9 How To?

Postby Twowolves2000 » Wed Apr 22, 2009 7:48 pm

Hello,

I'm a linux noob, messed w/mandrake and Knoppix in the past, but have forgotten what I'd learned, and returning now. My interest now is the home server setup, and Amahi is a beautiful answer for linux, sounds like it preconfigs samba and other services that have been command line guru only previously..awesome! Let me state that I'm primarily after the security of raid 5 for storage. I've been in IT for a number of years and learned the beauty of raid 5 and data being safe for all but the most extreme cases, watched raids that were limping rebuild 1 drive, then a 2nd drive w/no loss at all! So, I've always wanted to setup the homeserver w/raid 5 that could grow and follow me through time, expansions/additions as desired, but especially upon drive failure. I want to keep all music, alot of movies, and 3-4 network pc's worth of weekly backup. Will linux software raid still do this? My thinking was I don't need absolute performance, just enough to stream music and HD movies from it w/the safety. Now, first question to all the linuxheads out there(and that's not derogatory just a techie label for what ya do) ;) that know it's capabilities, will linux's software raid uphold the same redundancy and failure recovery w/ it's raid 5 support and then will fedora 9?

I have an htpc box I am using to grow this, it includes: a gigabyte 9400 chipset mobo, 4Gb 1066 ram, Intel Q6600 cpu, 3x 1Tb Seagate 7200rpm sata drive's. I was wishing I could just make a 2Tb raid 5 out of that and install OS and media on that, so there won't be any unrecoverable crashes or moves. Is this plausible and doable w/linux and Amahi? I am expecting there to be some commands to build the raid then install on it, and need those commands too >.< Thanks in advance for any advice and insight! :ugeek:

-Old Wolf

nemolomen

Re: Software Raid 5 in Fedora 9 How To?