How to disable ATT Uverse Gateway DHCP

thegeebs
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 10:38 pm
Location: Michigan, USA

How to disable ATT Uverse Gateway DHCP

Postby thegeebs » Tue Feb 15, 2011 10:45 pm

I'm using the supplied ATT Uverse router/gateway. I don't see an option to strictly disable DHCP. I currently have the Uverse router allocating 11 IP's currently but I want to try Amahi's dhcp. Anyone know how to do this?

ATT Uverse Router/Gateway options below:

DHCP Configuration
192.168.1.0 / 255.255.255.0 (default)
172.16.0.0 / 255.255.0.0
10.0.0.0 / 255.255.0.0
Configure manually
Router Address:____
Subnet Mask:____
First DHCP Address:____
Last DHCP Address:____
DHCP Lease Time: ___hours (24 hours default)
Linux is not user friendly!

User avatar
radioz
Posts: 406
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:07 pm

Re: How to disable ATT Uverse Gateway DHCP

Postby radioz » Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:48 pm

Exactly which model Uverse Gateway do you have?

I Googled 'Uverse Gateway dhcp' and got a number of hits that seem to suggest it might be possible to disable your dhcp. Try it.

tnorman
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 10:58 am

Re: How to disable ATT Uverse Gateway DHCP

Postby tnorman » Thu Feb 24, 2011 11:38 am

I'm guessing no since I haven't been able to find one either. Here is a link to a forum where the guy writes about talking to a level tier 2 tech support person who says it is no longer possible.

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r240166 ... are-Update

Personally I have a router in between the ATT gateway and the rest of my network. Not sure if this will help or hinder my use of amahi, but I'm a new user and am testing the waters.

vegaramos1
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:00 pm

Re: How to disable ATT Uverse Gateway DHCP

Postby vegaramos1 » Sun Feb 27, 2011 12:31 am

I too have UVerse, and I have not been able to find a way to disable DHCP on the 2Wire HGV-3800B (I think that is the model number). It hasn't posed a problem for me yet, although sometimes I do have a problem with accessing my HDA's Dashboard by typing in the URL http://hda. However, I do not have any issues when using the IP address.

sunman71
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 7:26 pm

Re: How to disable ATT Uverse Gateway DHCP

Postby sunman71 » Mon Feb 28, 2011 11:29 am

I forget which section under the Gatweay config I did this, but I limited the IP addresses the Uverse Gateway can give out to one.

phils
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:52 am

Re: How to disable ATT Uverse Gateway DHCP

Postby phils » Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:07 am

Open your routers home page
Cick the SETTINGS tab
Then click the LAN and then DHCP.
In the DHCP Network Range:
Select Configure manually.

Enter your Router Address 192.168.1.1
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
First DHCP Address: 192.168.1.##
Last DHCP Address: 192.168.1.##

Where ## is the last number of your servers IP address.
If your servers address if 192.168.1.5 replace the ## with 5

Leave the lease time as is, then click Save

With a recent firmware update. AT&T removed the ability to turn off DHCP.
The only work around is to setup a single IP-address that is your server.
Since your server will have a static IP, the router will accept it.
The router will show connected devices as assigned by your HDA.

pauljfitzgerald
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2014 10:40 am

Re: How to disable ATT Uverse Gateway DHCP

Postby pauljfitzgerald » Thu Nov 27, 2014 10:48 am

I tried setting the range to a single address, and the only result was that nothing on the network could access the Internet or the AT&T modem/router. I had to do a factory reset, so I'm back where I started.
Open your routers home page
Cick the SETTINGS tab
Then click the LAN and then DHCP.
In the DHCP Network Range:
Select Configure manually.

Enter your Router Address 192.168.1.1
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
First DHCP Address: 192.168.1.##
Last DHCP Address: 192.168.1.##

Where ## is the last number of your servers IP address.
If your servers address if 192.168.1.5 replace the ## with 5

Leave the lease time as is, then click Save

With a recent firmware update. AT&T removed the ability to turn off DHCP.
The only work around is to setup a single IP-address that is your server.
Since your server will have a static IP, the router will accept it.
The router will show connected devices as assigned by your HDA.
[ Post made via iPad ] Image

thugpoet88
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2015 7:39 am

Re: How to disable ATT Uverse Gateway DHCP

Postby thugpoet88 » Fri Dec 04, 2015 1:15 pm

did this workound work for any body as it didnt work for me?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11521
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: How to disable ATT Uverse Gateway DHCP

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Dec 04, 2015 2:31 pm

Did you check the wiki for guidance?
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

vegaramos1
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:00 pm

Re: How to disable ATT Uverse Gateway DHCP

Postby vegaramos1 » Mon Dec 07, 2015 11:30 pm

did this workound work for any body as it didnt work for me?
Yes, I've done it on my Uverse Gateway. Just set the beginning and ending DHCP address to point to your HDA. If you run Mac or iOS, you'll need to renew the lease on the IP Address, if you run Windows you can restart or enter the command.

Code: Select all

ipconfig /renew

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests