My Amahi 6 Experience (So far & ongoing)

dmserver

My Amahi 6 Experience (So far & ongoing)

Postby dmserver » Thu Feb 10, 2011 6:43 am

Hi,
I'm relatively new to Amahi and Fedora and had got my Amahi 5 up and running after playing about a lot and almost breaking it several times learning about it.
My server is a home server and is not critical, it's about me learning more and getting a better set up in the house. If my server is down for a day whilst I adjust it (or try and fix what I have broken) then it's not critical. I can easily switch my router's DHCP back on and get access to the net on my Win 7 desktop PC.
I had just bought a cheap (£25) USB NAS server that I manually moved my backed up data to so my HDA was clean of any valuable info. and I had originally installed F12 to a 320G drive so was keen to install it on a smaller one I found (80G) allowing me to leave the larger drive purely for storage.

So I opted to try a totally clean install of F14 and added Amahi 6 to the repo. To see how I got on now I thought I knew a bit more, and to see how Amahi 6 looked and ran from a relative newbie POV.

I used the Fed14 CD's (1,2,3 & 4) as my DVD's were playing up (for some reason a DVD wasn't booting but a CD would)
For Partitions and Drive layouts I still followed the wiki instructions, although there were a few minor differences with Fed14.
- Once you have created the LVM Partition, instead of clicking 'LVM' you click 'create' again and then you chose a LVM Group (as far as I remember but forgot to note it down). It's relatively obvious as it states there must already be a LVM formatted partition created 1st.
- you then add swap and root and carry on as per the wiki.

Installing F14 was straightforward. I chose the Desktop Environment for Gnome etc and added the F14 repo for amahi http:f14.amahi.org
Swapped CD's as directed and rebooted after installation. All OK