Replace hdd and the server "desktop" of amahi server

kaneco
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 6:15 pm

Replace hdd and the server "desktop" of amahi server

Postby kaneco » Sun Jan 23, 2011 4:01 am

Hello all,

Just one question regarding this topic, it is possible to take a snap shot of the hdd of amahi server, and install this snap shot on a different hdd without the same capacity?

To do this, I am talking to take the snap shot of hdd with hirens boot cd with ghost and copy a snap shot to a network drive and after this I change the desktop and the hdd and a load the image into the new desktop and the hdd with a different capacity.

It is this possible to do??

Best regards

User avatar
moredruid
Expert
Posts: 791
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 1:33 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Replace hdd and the server "desktop" of amahi server

Postby moredruid » Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:54 am

yes (you can also use clonezilla), but your target hdd should have the same or a larger capacity than the source drive.
echo '16i[q]sa[ln0=aln100%Pln100/snlbx]sbA0D2173656C7572206968616D41snlbxq' | dc
Galileo - HP Proliant ML110 G6 quad core Xeon 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 2x750GB RAID1 + 2x1TB RAID1 HDD

kaneco
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 6:15 pm

Re: Replace hdd and the server "desktop" of amahi server

Postby kaneco » Thu Feb 17, 2011 2:46 am

Hello one question regarding this topic,

If I clone the hdd with clonezilla to other one with more capacity, when I start-up the system with new hdd the system automatic the adjust the size of my hdd to the new size on partition

best regards

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11679
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Replace hdd and the server "desktop" of amahi server

Postby bigfoot65 » Thu Feb 17, 2011 5:44 am

As far as I know you will have to tell clonezilla to do that. Otherwise when you boot the OS, it will see the unallocated space as just that. There is an option during restore that you can tell it to use the full drive.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

sag47
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 9:27 am

Re: Replace hdd and the server "desktop" of amahi server

Postby sag47 » Thu Feb 17, 2011 6:25 am

It's also a good idea to zero the free space on your Amahi server before using Clone Zilla. This isn't just for Amahi but a practice for images in general. The image size will be smaller too if the drive wasn't in a zero state.

Code: Select all

dd if=/dev/zero of=~/zerofile rm ~/zerofile

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests