Missed add repository step

ttbardj

Missed add repository step

Postby ttbardj » Wed Feb 25, 2009 9:43 pm

I'm new at linux and trying to get out of the MS money pit. I was reading up on Windows Home Server and it sounded like the right solution for my needs, however I don't want to use MS even with the "free" trial. I found Amahi through the searches and decided to give it a go. I had a box and extra drives so i decided to follow the instructions and install Fedora 9 (not 10) on it. Following the instructions for Amahi until it got to the part where it seemed like it was going to set IP settings. SO I shut down, installed Fedora and relogged on to Amahi. So it tells me I was supposed to add its repository during installation and skip creating User, both of which I failed to follow. Is there a way to add the http://f9.amahi.org repository in Fedora to continue the installation of Amahi? .. and did I mess up by creating a user name? I also failed to uncheck the office productivity applications per the instructions ( i didn't get to that page of instructions before installing Fedora 9).. but I know I can uninstall that stuff. Anxious to try this out. I promise to follow your instructions to the letter now :D Thanks for the help in advance. Oh yeah, I suppose I could just start install again, but Fedora 9 did about an hour of updates already.

cpg
Administrator

Re: Missed add repository step

Postby cpg » Wed Feb 25, 2009 9:55 pm

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

cpg
Administrator

Postby cpg » Wed Feb 25, 2009 9:59 pm

did I mess up by creating a user name?
that user will not have any shares (aka samba) access.

the best solution would be deleting the user from the amahi setup -> users tab, then re-creating it from there.

note that i think it will delete all the users files, if you had any, so back up those, if any, first.