Amahi 5.6 and DD-wrt

LGSONE
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 5:17 am

Amahi 5.6 and DD-wrt

Postby LGSONE » Wed Nov 03, 2010 12:52 pm

I have an e3000 Linksys Router with DD-WRT and OPTWARE installed on it and it has been a great upgrade to the Linksys stock firmware. Very cool to use the USB for NAS and Printing, not to mention the Aisa Block for IPTables. I upgrade my Amahi Server (Dell PowerEdge 700, 2.8Ghz, 2 Gig Ram, 2TB HD) to Fedora 14 and Amahi 5.6 and I noticed the Router Control, so I selected dd-wrt v24, entered my router user and password and it does not seem to be functioning. I know its a new feature but I'm wondering if anyone has a wiki of this feature and what it can enhance by using it.

Thanks for any input

LGSONE

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11863
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Amahi 5.6 and DD-wrt

Postby bigfoot65 » Wed Nov 03, 2010 1:32 pm

May be the same issue here. Amahi does not support Fedora 14 yet, so all the pieces are not in place. Could be your problem.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2612
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Amahi 5.6 and DD-wrt

Postby cpg » Wed Nov 03, 2010 2:24 pm

yes, there is a wiki page for router control.

Maybe it has decayed since it was started. It was meant to manage routers more easily from one place.

It is modular, i.e. one module per router and it would be nice if someone were to be interested on this area, as it's useful.

(i thought that Fedora 14 broke your machine, ...)
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

ppmt
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:29 pm

Re: Amahi 5.6 and DD-wrt

Postby ppmt » Wed Nov 03, 2010 5:10 pm

I assume that it is not implemented for the plug?

I can't find it in my hda

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2612
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Amahi 5.6 and DD-wrt

Postby cpg » Wed Nov 03, 2010 5:41 pm

it is. advanced settings should be enabled for it to show.
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

LGSONE
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 5:17 am

Re: Amahi 5.6 and DD-wrt

Postby LGSONE » Thu Nov 04, 2010 5:01 am

Well, I'm excited about the integration of DD-wrt and Amahi. It would be nice to still have the router still do the DHCP and external name resolution AND to have it talk to the Amahi DNS server enhance the internal name resolution for local devices. DNS can be a PITA. Had a SBS / PDC server and an ISA server at home for years and the DNS was the biggest hurdle for the inital setup.

Thanks for the cool stuff, I'm hooked. And I have several clients that I am setting up there Amahi servers.

LGSONE

ppmt
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:29 pm

Re: Amahi 5.6 and DD-wrt

Postby ppmt » Fri Nov 05, 2010 12:23 am

thanks cpg,

I will look into it to see what it is about :) I have openwrt on my router

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests