SOLVED: Express install 5.4 - reboot loop

mkasa
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:40 pm

SOLVED: Express install 5.4 - reboot loop

Postby mkasa » Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:42 pm

Installation worked fine, but every time it boots is tells me it needs to reboot to complete the installation.

I'm going in circles - help?

Michael

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2604
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Express install 5.4 - reboot loop

Postby cpg » Wed Jun 23, 2010 8:37 pm

This is definitely a bug. If you could file one it would be best.

Now ... I assume it does not ask for the install code or reconfigure Amahi?

It simply says it need to reboot again?

You can comment the ConfigureAmahi line in /etc/rd.local file
(if you know how to do that).

Otherwise I *think* it's safe to ignore this (assuming you don't need the console).

http://bugs.amahi.org -
1) Login using the same username you use on amahi.org - 2) Choose the project (installer in this case) - 3) Choose "New Issue" -> bug.
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

mkasa
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:40 pm

Re: Express install 5.4 - reboot loop

Postby mkasa » Wed Jun 23, 2010 11:02 pm

Woops... express worked fine after I used the CORRECT ip address -- used the default, not my modified 192.168... range.

works great! Up and running and configuring!

thank you,
Michael

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2604
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: SOLVED: Express install 5.4 - reboot loop

Postby cpg » Wed Jun 23, 2010 11:12 pm

good :)
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

xlnt
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 12:55 pm

Re: SOLVED: Express install 5.4 - reboot loop

Postby xlnt » Thu Jun 24, 2010 12:58 pm

Hi, I'm having the same problem.
Can't seem to log in to the system at all..
Tried the default ip, tried my configured IP, And checked the ip with root login and tried that one.

Any suggestions are really welcome.

rupert
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 3:24 am

Re: SOLVED: Express install 5.4 - reboot loop

Postby rupert » Fri Jun 25, 2010 5:55 am

Unfortunately I too am having the same problem, I did try manually editing my IP to the one I entered on the Amahi config site, but to no avail. I have also commented out the AmahiConfigure as per the earlier suggestion but the server is not showing on the network, nor is there an http server running on it as far as I can tell.

Any help on getting this working would be appreciated as I like the look of it...

Cheers,
Rupert.

realbuz
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:58 pm

Re: SOLVED: Express install 5.4 - reboot loop

Postby realbuz » Fri Jun 25, 2010 8:01 pm

Alright, here is what I had to do to resolve this issue:

select debug

Code: Select all

system-config-network
- configure your network interface correctly ( I used static ) / also make sure your dns are configured
exit the system-config-network
run

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/network restart

Code: Select all

ping google.com
(yay !)

Code: Select all

ConfigAmahi
(case important)
you get a waiting screen for a while, then you get back to the reboot needed / debug screen
select reboot
enjoy !

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2604
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: SOLVED: Express install 5.4 - reboot loop

Postby cpg » Fri Jun 25, 2010 8:08 pm

thanks @realbuz!

also, if the people having this problem could indicate what is their networking situation ... one ethernet, two or more, etc., that would be useful to track this issue down.
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

Lincee
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 3:34 pm
Location: Arnhem, NL
Contact:

Re: SOLVED: Express install 5.4 - reboot loop

Postby Lincee » Sat Jun 26, 2010 12:38 pm

fixed, see the wiki
LANTEA: Amahi 7 (vm), HP Proliant Microserver, 8GB RAM, 2x 1TB HDD, 1GB eth

mpwoodward
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 6:27 pm

Re: SOLVED: Express install 5.4 - reboot loop

Postby mpwoodward » Tue Jul 06, 2010 9:49 pm

Forgive what is probably a really idiotic question, but I'm having problems installing the Express CD and I don't understand how you "select debug" as suggested in an earlier post and on the wiki.

When I boot to the Express CD, I see two options: "Erase everything, install Amahi headless" and "Expert install for Amahi headless - Graphic installer"

I'm sure I'm missing something basic but I don't understand how to "select debug" so I can enable my network card and proceed with the installation. (I'm in the "invalid code" loop because my ethernet card isn't enabled.)

Thanks.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests