Adding RAID drives to HDA

Deejens

Adding RAID drives to HDA

Postby Deejens » Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:30 am

Dear people at this nice forum.
I installed my HDA server, containing a brand new Intel DM510MO mainboard, 4Gb memory, a 500 Gb Operating System Disk and... a 6 Tb RAID 5 configuration.

I am totally new in this Linux stuff. But I made it to format the RAID disks and I am able to mount in manually to the system. But I want it to mount automatically.

So when I open the ' Computer' link on the desktop I see 3 things:

1. The Operating System Disk
2. A CD/DVD player
3. 4501 GB Hard Disk: /storage

#3 is not mounted, when I double click I have to fill in a password to mount.

My questions... how do I automount this drive to the system and how do I create it as a automount for var/hda/files

Hope you can help.

I tried some info on the Amahi site about adding a second drive. That did not help. hda-diskmount indicates that there are no available drives to be mounted. Even though my RAID drive is not mounted at that moment. Also manually adding it to fstab did not work cause I have no right to edit this file. Login as root is not possible.

So anyone? That's my final step in completing this amazing server!

Jens

cpg
Administrator

Re: Adding RAID drives to HDA

Postby cpg » Thu Feb 18, 2010 4:24 pm

i think hda-diskmount is too simple for RAID.

if you can mount it by hand, that is one big step!

nest you edit /etc/fstab (use gedit or nano) and add an entry there.

i gotta go now, but you can see the pattern and also RTFM (sorry :) ) ... man fstab.
you have to be careful with this, it can render your system unbootable.

after you edit, make sure the disk is NOT mounted.

then type mount -a

and it should be. if that works, then the system will do it every time!

fstab is antiquated. should be chucked for something else in model linux.
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

Deejens