Cannot browse HDA or ping server

egrimmer

Cannot browse HDA or ping server

Postby egrimmer » Sun Jan 11, 2009 4:20 pm

I'm a newbie and have a few questions that are likely simple for those that have setup their Amahi systems successfully.

* I cannot browse to "hda" from any system other than the server itself
* I don't believe my amahi server is functioning as a DHCP server, when I disable DHCP in my 2Wire Model 2701HG-B router I no longer can obtain an IP address on any system
* I cannot browse the web from my amahi/fedora system even though it appears I have the IP address I expect 192.168.1.70
* I cannot ping 192.168.1.70 nor does it show up in my router when I have DHCP turned on in the 2Wire router

Any suggestions, I followed the setup instructions correctly. The only thing I missed was getting DHCP turned off and being functional from the amahi system. Which I believe is the problem but I'm not sure how to resolve it?

jfrenc14
Expert

Re: Cannot browse HDA or ping server

Postby jfrenc14 » Sun Jan 11, 2009 5:06 pm

i would suggest that you stop by the IRC you can go to www.mibbit.com/chat and set the IRC to Freenode and the Chanel to #amahi

relrobber

Postby relrobber » Sun Jan 11, 2009 8:00 pm

can you ping the router from your HDA?
Home HDA: Sony VAIO PCV-RX560, 1.7GHz P4, 320MB RAM

Managed HDA: 512MB RAM

egrimmer

Postby egrimmer » Mon Jan 12, 2009 7:08 am

I will try this tonight when I get home and post the results. Thanks for your assistance.

egrimmer

Postby egrimmer » Tue Jan 13, 2009 7:05 pm

I'm actually doing the installation over, I think I messed up some of the IP configurations. However I'm now at the terminal entry step of running HDA-INSTALL xxxxxx and it is reporting the amahi.org servery may not be available and to try again later. I will do just that, try again later.

egrimmer

Postby egrimmer » Tue Jan 13, 2009 7:07 pm