SOLVED: Trouble reaching the Amahi install from Fedora

bkeeler10
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 9:22 pm

SOLVED: Trouble reaching the Amahi install from Fedora

Postby bkeeler10 » Tue Oct 03, 2017 10:20 pm

Hello,

First, I'm a total newbie on this stuff. I was following the directions to install Amahi. I got Fedora 25 installed, logged on and got to the part where I'm supposed to type "rpm -Uvh http://f25.amahi.org/noarch/hda-release ... noarch.rpm"

When I do that, I get the following error:

Retrieving http://f25.amahi.org/noarch/hda-release ... noarch.rpm
curl: (22) The requested URL returned error: 404 Not Found
error: skipping http://f25.amahi.org/noarch/hda-release ... noarch.rpm - transfer failed.

I tried this a week or so ago, and got this error. I thought maybe the host URL for the file was down. I just tried it again and got the same thing. I know the box is getting out to the internet - I can ping www.google.com and get a response back.

Appreciate any help you can offer. TIA

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 10637
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Trouble reaching the Amahi install from Fedora

Postby bigfoot65 » Wed Oct 04, 2017 5:05 am

Retrieving http://f25.amahi.org/noarch/hda-release ... noarch.rpm
curl: (22) The requested URL returned error: 404 Not Found
error: skipping http://f25.amahi.org/noarch/hda-release ... noarch.rpm - transfer failed.
Have you tried the URL in a web browser from a client machine? That's a good way to test if your HDA has the appropriate connectivity.

I tested it from here and works fine. There is likely something wrong on your end.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

bkeeler10
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Trouble reaching the Amahi install from Fedora

Postby bkeeler10 » Wed Oct 04, 2017 9:21 am

Retrieving http://f25.amahi.org/noarch/hda-release ... noarch.rpm
curl: (22) The requested URL returned error: 404 Not Found
error: skipping http://f25.amahi.org/noarch/hda-release ... noarch.rpm - transfer failed.
Have you tried the URL in a web browser from a client machine? That's a good way to test if your HDA has the appropriate connectivity.

I tested it from here and works fine. There is likely something wrong on your end.
Yeah, this morning I pointed my Windows computer at that link and it downloaded a file. That computer is on the same network that the Fedora box is on. It seems something is wrong with the Fedora installation then. Any idea what it might be? Is the best solution to reinstall Fedora from scratch, or are there other diagnostics/troubleshooting I can try?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 10637
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Trouble reaching the Amahi install from Fedora

Postby bigfoot65 » Wed Oct 04, 2017 9:36 am

Is the best solution to reinstall Fedora from scratch, or are there other diagnostics/troubleshooting I can try?
To keep it simple, I would recommend a reinstall of Fedora. Also ensure you verify the network is active on the setup screen before selecting the Install option.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

bkeeler10
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Trouble reaching the Amahi install from Fedora

Postby bkeeler10 » Wed Oct 04, 2017 2:39 pm

Cool, I'll give that a whirl. I will update this thread with what I find. Thanks.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 10637
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Trouble reaching the Amahi install from Fedora

Postby bigfoot65 » Wed Oct 04, 2017 5:00 pm

Sounds good. Hope it works out.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

bkeeler10
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Trouble reaching the Amahi install from Fedora

Postby bkeeler10 » Sat Oct 07, 2017 4:01 pm

Well, I feel like an idiot. I reinstalled Fedora from the same USB media I had done before, and got the same result. So I downloaded the iso file again, from the alternate location, created a bootable USB from that, and installed Fedora from that media for a third time, and went to try again. This time I noticed that I had made an error in typing in the URL. It was 10.0.0.1, instead of 10.0.0-1. I guess when I saw that my mind went to IP addresses and I assumed it was 10.0.0.1. And I missed it every time I double checked my typing.

Anyway, it turns out things work just fine if you use the right URL. Thanks for trying to help.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 10637
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Trouble reaching the Amahi install from Fedora

Postby bigfoot65 » Sat Oct 07, 2017 4:49 pm

LOL

As we say, RTFM or basically follow the instructions. 😁

Marking this thread closed.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests