SOLVED: New Computer: Same as Old Computer? - Can't Access HDA

astinusofmetate
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 10:13 pm

SOLVED: New Computer: Same as Old Computer? - Can't Access HDA

Postby astinusofmetate » Thu Apr 20, 2017 7:05 am

I installed Amahi on an old computer to test it out before purchasing some new hardware. All went well, and so now I'm following the same steps to put Amahi on the new set of hardware.

I *assumed* that if I simply told my router to assign the same static IP address to the new computer as the old one, everything would work out just fine. But now that I have Amahi installed, it looks like something didn't connect correctly as I can't access the dashboard.

Output from the attempt at troubleshooting per Amahi website troubleshooter below. The user control panel doesn't appear to be connected to the new system as it's telling me it's currently "stopped".

Any suggestions on how to best proceed?

EDIT: User Control Panel shows the server running but still can't access from client PCs to get to the dashboard. I can access the HDA via PuTTY


Last login: Thu Apr 20 07:16:25 2017 from 192.168.1.107
[astinusofmetate@localhost ~]$ nslookup hda
Server: 192.168.1.99
Address: 192.168.1.99#53

** server can't find hda.ansalon.home: REFUSED

[astinusofmetate@localhost ~]$ su -
Password:
su: Authentication failure
[astinusofmetate@localhost ~]$ sudo su -
[sudo] password for astinusofmetate:
[root@localhost ~]# fpaste --sysinfo
Gathering system info .............................Uploading (14.1KiB)...
Error Uploading: [Errno -2] Name or service not known
[root@localhost ~]# nslookup hda
Server: 192.168.1.99
Address: 192.168.1.99#53

** server can't find hda.ansalon.home: REFUSED

[root@localhost ~]# cat /etc/resolv.conf
# Automatically generated by hda-ctl on 2017-04-20 07:36:04
search ansalon.home
nameserver 192.168.1.99
nameserver 192.168.1.99
[root@localhost ~]# ip addr
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default
link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
inet6 ::1/128 scope host
valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: enp1s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel state UP group default qlen 1000
link/ether 70:85:c2:21:01:83 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
inet 192.168.1.99/24 brd 192.168.1.255 scope global enp1s0
valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
inet6 fe80::7285:c2ff:fe21:183/64 scope link
valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
[root@localhost ~]# systemctl status dnsmasq
● dnsmasq.service - DNS caching server.
Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/dnsmasq.service; enabled; vendor preset: disabled)
Active: active (running) since Thu 2017-04-20 07:36:03 PDT; 9min ago
Main PID: 1129 (dnsmasq)
CGroup: /system.slice/dnsmasq.service
└─1129 /usr/sbin/dnsmasq -k

Apr 20 07:36:03 localhost.localdomain systemd[1]: Started DNS caching server..
Apr 20 07:36:03 localhost.localdomain systemd[1]: Starting DNS caching server...
Apr 20 07:36:03 localhost.localdomain dnsmasq[1129]: started, version 2.72 ca...
Apr 20 07:36:03 localhost.localdomain dnsmasq[1129]: compile time options: IP...
Apr 20 07:36:03 localhost.localdomain dnsmasq[1129]: reading /etc/resolv.conf
Apr 20 07:36:03 localhost.localdomain dnsmasq[1129]: ignoring nameserver 192....
Apr 20 07:36:03 localhost.localdomain dnsmasq[1129]: read /etc/hosts - 2 addr...
Apr 20 07:36:31 localhost.localdomain dnsmasq[1129]: reading /etc/resolv.conf
Apr 20 07:36:31 localhost.localdomain dnsmasq[1129]: ignoring nameserver 192....
Apr 20 07:36:31 localhost.localdomain dnsmasq[1129]: ignoring nameserver 192....
Hint: Some lines were ellipsized, use -l to show in full.
[root@localhost ~]# netstat -an | grep :53
-bash: netstat: command not found
[root@localhost ~]#

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 10265
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: New Computer: Same as Old Computer? - Can't Access HDA

Postby bigfoot65 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:13 pm

Any suggestions on how to best proceed?
Check out the install troubleshooting guidance.

Have you reviewed the network troubleshooting steps?

Also see bug 2046. This may be related to your issue.

Please attach the full text for:

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl status dnsmasq -l
Your post cuts off the output and we need to see the full text.

Also might try:

Code: Select all

sudo dnf update
I have given you several things to look at and try that should fix your issue. I presume you have set the HDA to do DHCP and DNS.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

astinusofmetate
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 10:13 pm

Re: New Computer: Same as Old Computer? - Can't Access HDA

Postby astinusofmetate » Thu Apr 20, 2017 8:16 pm

Thank you for the very prompt reply. It looks like the OS update did the trick! Dashboard is now accessible. Time to start configuring. :)

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 10265
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: New Computer: Same as Old Computer? - Can't Access HDA

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Apr 21, 2017 6:10 am

Awesome!

Marking this one as solved.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests