Possible random DNS issue?

rampage537
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 9:41 am
Location: Hazel Park, MI
Contact:

Possible random DNS issue?

Postby rampage537 » Fri Nov 27, 2009 7:18 am

I have this random issue, i was working on my gallery2 clicked a link with in it and it went to this page. Now this is not the first and it is not always related to apps either, it also appears that the heavier the traffic on the local network the more it happens. Not sure what log file to look at to try to track down this issue. After it happens the first time does not matter what link i click it will always to to the attacked page, i have to shut down my browser and restart for it to go back to normal. There has been reports of this happening to other, could you post your experiences with this also.
Attachments
home.png
picture
home.png (175.73 KiB) Viewed 1695 times
Testmaster Manager
Amahi HDA Custom Dual 2.7 GHz, 3 GB DDR2 (667MHz) Ram, 80GB HDD for OS + 1TB and 320GB HDD for Share Drives

GGD
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 5:51 pm

Re: Possible random DNS issue?

Postby GGD » Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:02 pm

i had the same experience with my amahi before it crashed... i would type in an URL and it would take a long time to resolve or it would completely time out and give me an "openDNS" error. this was mostly internet sites and sometimes internals as well but not as many.. i had shut off my DHCP/ DNS on my router and everything was going through my Amahi..

i hope this helps

GGD

Lincee
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 3:34 pm
Location: Arnhem, NL
Contact:

Re: Possible random DNS issue?

Postby Lincee » Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:37 pm

i 3th that!
LANTEA: Amahi 7 (vm), HP Proliant Microserver, 8GB RAM, 2x 1TB HDD, 1GB eth

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2612
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Possible random DNS issue?

Postby cpg » Fri Nov 27, 2009 4:24 pm

hmm, this is a tough one. there definitely is a problem ... somewhere!

researching this a bit ... so far, this seems to be related to firefox and keywords ...
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

htbrdd
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 4:24 pm

Re: Possible random DNS issue?

Postby htbrdd » Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:50 pm

so im still having this problem. started again this morning, and is now going on right now. but if i log into the vpn in network everything works great. really strange i thought it was fix but something new must have brought it back from the dead. thanks anything i can do to debug let me know.

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2612
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Possible random DNS issue?

Postby cpg » Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:14 am

we pused the opendns backup to tertially, so taht the local dns server is picked first in as much as possible.

you could delete it ... (editing hdactl - until the next time it gets updated), or better yet, create a patch and submit it for everyone to enjoy! :)
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

User avatar
moredruid
Expert
Posts: 791
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 1:33 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Possible random DNS issue?

Postby moredruid » Fri Dec 11, 2009 4:48 am

is it an option to use Google DNS by default? I hear good stuff about that.
echo '16i[q]sa[ln0=aln100%Pln100/snlbx]sbA0D2173656C7572206968616D41snlbxq' | dc
Galileo - HP Proliant ML110 G6 quad core Xeon 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 2x750GB RAID1 + 2x1TB RAID1 HDD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests