username.yourhda.com from inside network?

batoum
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 3:53 am

username.yourhda.com from inside network?

Postby batoum » Tue Apr 06, 2021 4:36 am

Hi

I had a problem of accessing username.yourhda.com from inside my network before but I have done a re-install and cannot fix it.

Set up
Modem
Separate router connected to the modem. Router in modem's DMZ
HDA box connected to router and is providing DHCP and DNS services

When I am outside my network, I can access username.yourhda.com (it goes to my dashboard or a web app if the right port is on). When I am inside my network, it times out.

I have tried
1. Update the etc/hosts.conf by adding the domain in there
2. Updated the etc/dnsmasq.d/amahi-dns.conf to add the domain there
3. Updated the conf files in etc/httpd folder

Anyone have any smart suggestions?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11841
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: username.yourhda.com from inside network?

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue Apr 06, 2021 6:29 am

username.yourhda.com is not supposed to work when inside your network.

It's designed to be used from outside.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

batoum
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 3:53 am

Re: username.yourhda.com from inside network?

Postby batoum » Tue Apr 06, 2021 8:02 am

Hi
So what can I do? My specific use case is to use nextcloud and the login is usually the website. That means i would have to flip depending on whether I am inside or outside the network..

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11841
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: username.yourhda.com from inside network?

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue Apr 06, 2021 8:10 am

So what can I do? My specific use case is to use nextcloud and the login is usually the website. That means i would have to flip depending on whether I am inside or outside the network..
Amahi is not primarily designed for use outside the network. That can be prone to security issues and we discourage it unless you know what you are doing.

You could set up nextcloud-18 App to be accessed using a third party domain. There is some guidance in the wiki on hosting a single web app that might help.

The other option would be to have separate links, one for inside the network and one for outside. This only affects devices that you use to access the app.

Sorry, but there's no other options that I know.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest