SOLVED: Cannot see Amahi HDA on my network after Windows 10 update

sakhmed
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:52 pm

SOLVED: Cannot see Amahi HDA on my network after Windows 10 update

Postby sakhmed » Fri Dec 18, 2015 10:06 pm

Hello there,

I am running Amahi 8 on home network. After one of my machine that runs windows 10 got its update, amahi hda disappear from home network. I do not know what to do. I have already rebooted amahi, router and windows machine. I called to Microsoft for assistance, but they could not help. Can anyone help me?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11437
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Cannot see Amahi HDA on my network after Windows 10 update

Postby bigfoot65 » Sat Dec 19, 2015 8:39 am

Can you access the HDA from the Windows 10 machine via \\hda or \\ipaddress?

Is this the only machine with the problem or do other clients have the same issue?
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

sakhmed
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:52 pm

Re: Cannot see Amahi HDA on my network after Windows 10 update

Postby sakhmed » Tue Dec 29, 2015 7:40 am

Sorry for the delay with a response. I can confirm that I can access amahi server by typing hda in internet browser, I can also access it via ssh. The machine that got the update cannot see amahi in the home network. I have another windows 10 machine at home which did not get the update, it still see amahi server under network as HDA

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11437
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Cannot see Amahi HDA on my network after Windows 10 update

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue Dec 29, 2015 12:11 pm

Odd. I am sure there is some Windows 10 setting that needs adjusted.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

sakhmed
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:52 pm

Re: Cannot see Amahi HDA on my network after Windows 10 update

Postby sakhmed » Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:27 pm

It seems it somehow related to these issues reported by other many users

http://www.tenforums.com/network-sharin ... ter-3.html

I still cannot resolve the issue

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11437
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Cannot see Amahi HDA on my network after Windows 10 update

Postby bigfoot65 » Sat Jan 02, 2016 8:21 am

Can you still access shares via \\hda?

Not much we can do to help with a client OS issue.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

sakhmed
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:52 pm

Re: Cannot see Amahi HDA on my network after Windows 10 update

Postby sakhmed » Sat Jan 02, 2016 8:56 am

Yes, I still can access amahi via \\hda. The problem being is that I cannot map amahi as a network drive anymore. Can you replicate problem on your virtual box, if you have one?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11437
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Cannot see Amahi HDA on my network after Windows 10 update

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:38 am

I don't have the same issues. I have tested on my own HDA and with VMs using Windows 10 clients and all work fine for me.

It could be a firewall issue with your OS possibly.

You can create a network mapping using the Windows 10 "Add a network location" function. See Map a network drive Windows 10 for guidance.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

sakhmed
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:52 pm

Re: Cannot see Amahi HDA on my network after Windows 10 update

Postby sakhmed » Mon Jan 04, 2016 10:00 pm

In order to add network drive, I need to see hda/amahi under my network on the windows machine, I do not have it.

Can you please try to install windows 10 version 1511, OS Build 10586.36?

I think that problem lies in the windows update. As shared the link above, many other users report the same problem

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11437
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Cannot see Amahi HDA on my network after Windows 10 update

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue Jan 05, 2016 3:35 am

If you follow the guidance in the link I provided in the previous post you will be able to add shares to your client.

You DO NOT have to see hda/amahi under network on the machine. As long as you can access \\hda\sharename, you can map them.

BTW I have the latest Windows 10 OS build and all the updates. No issues whatsoever on my end.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest