SOLVED: SSH hda vs OS X Yosemite

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11191
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: SSH hda vs OS X Yosemite

Postby bigfoot65 » Sat Aug 29, 2015 4:49 pm

Glad things are working now.

Why do you need the Netflix DNS service?

I subscribe to Netflix and never knew there was a DNS service specific to them.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

pitbull
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 2:14 pm

Re: SSH hda vs OS X Yosemite

Postby pitbull » Sat Aug 29, 2015 5:08 pm

I live in Canada.

I used hda-change-dns runnimng Amahi 6 and never had an issue. Doesn't seems to work on 7.1.. well it does work but screws up the server a bit.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11191
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: SSH hda vs OS X Yosemite

Postby bigfoot65 » Sat Aug 29, 2015 5:48 pm

Did you use the same script on Amahi 7? If so, you should not.

This is done via the Dashboard as described in wiki article, changing your DNS provider.

If you did not do this via the Dashboard, maybe that is the cause. If you did, then not sure how to work around it. Can you just set the DNS Server for Netflix on the clients that need it vs the network?

BTW, both primary and secondary DNS server has to be the same. Otherwise there will be issues.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

pitbull
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 2:14 pm

Re: SSH hda vs OS X Yosemite

Postby pitbull » Sat Aug 29, 2015 6:01 pm

I used the dashboard to change it.

I can try to change it on the clients.. but on the MacBook for exemple, the dns settings are coming from the server. and the service I use uses 2 different IP's.

What gets me is it worked great on 6.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11191
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: SSH hda vs OS X Yosemite

Postby bigfoot65 » Sat Aug 29, 2015 6:13 pm

The DNS Server changed in Amahi 7, so that may be why it does not work any longer.

This was driven by the OS software, not Amahi.

Sorry it's not making things easy for you.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

pitbull
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 2:14 pm

Re: SSH hda vs OS X Yosemite

Postby pitbull » Sat Aug 29, 2015 6:16 pm

ok thanks for the help!!!

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11191
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: SSH hda vs OS X Yosemite

Postby bigfoot65 » Sat Aug 29, 2015 6:19 pm

You can build a batch file to change DNS Server automatically for Netflix. Then one to change it back when you don't need Netflix. This would be run on your clients, not the server.

Just out of curiosity, have you checked to see if your router will allow adding DNS Server entries? That might be an option. Leave the HDA as is, but change it on the router.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

pitbull
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 2:14 pm

Re: SSH hda vs OS X Yosemite

Postby pitbull » Sun Aug 30, 2015 5:57 am

Great idea but the router only only allow DNS changes if DHCP is enabled. If DHCPis disabled, the DNS options are greyed out.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11191
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: SSH hda vs OS X Yosemite

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun Aug 30, 2015 6:37 am

Ok, well there is one way around that too if the router allows it.

Can you set the router DHCP server to provide a single IP address? If so, set it to do the IP address of the HDA. Mine allows me to choose start/end, and number of IP addresses to hand out.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

pitbull
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 2:14 pm

Re: SSH hda vs OS X Yosemite

Postby pitbull » Sun Aug 30, 2015 1:17 pm

The idea sounded great but now the server is stuck in a boot loop.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests