HDA installed but VM not reachable, Networking Issue ???

vivekragunathan
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 3:07 pm
Contact:

HDA installed but VM not reachable, Networking Issue ???

Postby vivekragunathan » Tue Aug 25, 2015 2:30 am

Hi

Originally I had this issue: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=6064. With @bigfoot65's help, I was able to install hda (on Fedora 19)

I am running on Amahi 7 on Virtual Box (and have followed this instructions: https://wiki.amahi.org/index.php/Amahi_on_VirtualBox). I have installed hda, and set up the network as instructed. The problem now seems to be that my VM is not visible on the network. Here are the symptoms:
  • I am not able to ping any server from the hda VM (ping google.com gives unknown host after a long wait)
  • I am not able to ping the hda vm from my local machine. The hda internal IP is 192.168.56.10, and pinging that IP from my machine gives "Request timeout for icmp_seq 0 ...".

    I tried the online Amahi 7 troubleshooter:
    t0.png
    t0.png (50.45 KiB) Viewed 193 times
    t1.png
    t1.png (49.28 KiB) Viewed 193 times
I tried changing different network configurations for the VM (NAT, Bridged etc). Nothing works. I am not able to access http://hda or 192.168.56.10.

Please help resolve the issue.

Thanks

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11300
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: HDA installed but VM not reachable, Networking Issue ???

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue Aug 25, 2015 2:35 am

Recommend you check out the VirtualBox tutorials in the wiki. There is probably some setting you need to adjust in VirtualBox to make it work.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

vivekragunathan
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 3:07 pm
Contact:

Re: HDA installed but VM not reachable, Networking Issue ???

Postby vivekragunathan » Tue Aug 25, 2015 2:45 am

Believe I have exhausted what is available on the wiki for virtualization. Like you said there is something nitty bitty setting or something. For now, all my settings and configuration reflect as described on Amahi on Virtual Box.

Thanks

vivekragunathan
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 3:07 pm
Contact:

Re: HDA installed but VM not reachable, Networking Issue ???

Postby vivekragunathan » Tue Aug 25, 2015 2:55 am

Seems to work now. I changed to only one network adapter (Host-Only). However, Amahi appears to be extremely slow. For instance, clicking on Apps or HDA or other links take a long while to load.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11300
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: HDA installed but VM not reachable, Networking Issue ???

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:31 pm

This could be due to the VirtualBox or the network adapter not configured properly.

Amahi is designed to run on real hardware, but does work virtualized when properly configured. We provide no support for virtualization. What you see in the wiki and forums is user contributed.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests