Apple Airport Extreme & Guest Network

tamorgen
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 1:48 pm

Apple Airport Extreme & Guest Network

Postby tamorgen » Wed Jul 17, 2013 2:02 pm

I'm having issues with my Apple Airport Extreme since I installed Amahi and it started doing DHCP for my network. I know that the Airport and Amahi don't play nice, but here is what I'm experiencing.
  • Wired network is fine. All wired devices function normally. This includes a desktop PC (Dual boot Hackintosh OSX 10.8.4/Windows 7), a HTPC (windows 7), Xbox 360, and the Amahi Home Server. Wired hosts use 192.168.1.x addresses

    Private Wireless Network works fine. It's a WPA2 Personal network with a rather complex password sting. I'd actually like to change it to WPA2 Enterprise by putting a RADIUS server on the Amahi Home Server so it can be done by user name & password, but that's a step down the road. Wireless clients use 192.168.1.x addresses

    The Guest Network, also using WPA2 Personal, but with a shorter password that I can give out to guests. It does not allowed to connect to private network (wired or wireless) hosts. This does not function properly unless I manually set IP addresses, gateway & DNS on the devices. Guest wireless hosts use 172.16.42.x addresses
I know the problem was introduced with Amahi. I'm just not sure what to do about it. I know there are other Amahi users that must have this sort of config. Any advice?

cdcrawford
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 7:29 am

Re: Apple Airport Extreme & Guest Network

Postby cdcrawford » Tue Jul 23, 2013 7:15 am

What IP Addresses do you set to get to the internet? The 172.16.42.x/24 or the 192.168.1.x/24 addresses?

This is definitely caused by Amahi. But, your solution does not lie with Amahi. It's functioning as it should. Doling out IP addresses and preforming DNS functions for the 192.168.1.x/24 network. Since your guest network is on a different subnet, the devices are not able to access your DNS and DHCP server. When you disable DHCP on your AirPort Extreme it disables it for both the guest network, and your main network. This is from what I can see by design.

If you're still using your AirPort as a router, and not as a Wi-Fi access point, you'd have to disable the DHCP on your Amahi and enable it on your AirPort. The guest network is designed to deny all access to your home network's devices. You are able to set your HDA as a DNS host on the AirPort, and still have full access to your Amahi Server and it's applications.

If you're using your AirPort as a Wi-Fi access point, you're pretty much out of luck. That I can see, anyway. Guest networks are provided by the AirPort and it was designed to function with DNS and DHCP enabled on the AirPort Extreme.

Good luck!

tamorgen
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 1:48 pm

Re: Apple Airport Extreme & Guest Network

Postby tamorgen » Wed Jul 24, 2013 12:11 pm

What IP Addresses do you set to get to the internet? The 172.16.42.x/24 or the 192.168.1.x/24 addresses?

This is definitely caused by Amahi. But, your solution does not lie with Amahi. It's functioning as it should. Doling out IP addresses and preforming DNS functions for the 192.168.1.x/24 network. Since your guest network is on a different subnet, the devices are not able to access your DNS and DHCP server. When you disable DHCP on your AirPort Extreme it disables it for both the guest network, and your main network. This is from what I can see by design.

If you're still using your AirPort as a router, and not as a Wi-Fi access point, you'd have to disable the DHCP on your Amahi and enable it on your AirPort. The guest network is designed to deny all access to your home network's devices. You are able to set your HDA as a DNS host on the AirPort, and still have full access to your Amahi Server and it's applications.

If you're using your AirPort as a Wi-Fi access point, you're pretty much out of luck. That I can see, anyway. Guest networks are provided by the AirPort and it was designed to function with DNS and DHCP enabled on the AirPort Extreme.

Good luck!
cdcrawford,
Both ranges can get to the internet. 172.16.42.x cannot get to the internal network by design (guest network)

I've tried disabling DHCP on Amahi but kept DNS, and pointed the AirPorts DNS primary server to the HDA. This actually works well, however, I've experienced odd network issues in this configuration. This would be my preferred method, as it lets the Airport do the DHCP request, keeps my Guest network, and the internal network separate, working properly.

However, like I said, when I go that route, with disabling DHCP, I have odd network behavior. I use my HDA as a media server, or more strictly a NAS. I tried watching movies on my HTPC, where it doesn't strictly stream it from the HDA, but retrieves mkv files and plays them on the HTPC(push vs pull). After about a minute or two, the playback freezes. Sometimes I could pause it, and it would resume, and otherwise, the player would dump me out of the movie. After I put it back in the original configuration, it functioned properly.

beans
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: Apple Airport Extreme & Guest Network

Postby beans » Tue Jul 29, 2014 5:40 am

hi!

I have an Airport as well.
Did you resolve the issue?

Have you discovered the best configuration?

Thanks

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11419
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Apple Airport Extreme & Guest Network

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:21 am

Have you all checked out the wiki?
https://wiki.amahi.org/index.php/Airport_express
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

beans
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: Apple Airport Extreme & Guest Network

Postby beans » Tue Jul 29, 2014 10:43 pm

Thanks.
Seems to be working with having DNS as HDA's IP.

However, I will be trying the Wiki suggestion in the end.

ddogg777
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 12:24 pm

Re: Apple Airport Extreme & Guest Network

Postby ddogg777 » Sun May 01, 2016 7:50 am

I am trying to use the guest network feature on my asus rt-ac66 router but I can only get it to work with DHCP enabled on the router. I presume it is due to the same issue as the airport in that it assigns a different subset. Do I follow the same suggestion as in the wiki? Are there any consequences for doing it that way?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11419
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Apple Airport Extreme & Guest Network

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue May 03, 2016 4:25 am

What is the wiki guidance you are referencing?
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests