Using Bind to create DNS proxy

maxmcm
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:05 pm

Using Bind to create DNS proxy

Postby maxmcm » Thu Feb 21, 2013 7:56 am

Hi, linux newbie here - I'm looking to use bind to create "if-else" type logic in /etc/named.conf.

The reason why I want to do this is that in order to get my Roku working on my network, I'm using unblock-us.com (I'm in Australia) which involves changing the DNS servers to their specific ones. This breaks all the *.home.com references, which is annoying and takes away heaps of Amahi functionality.

I'd like to be able to use the Amahi DNS for everything internal (192.168.1.* and everything at *.home.com) and everything else use the unblock-us.com DNS servers.

Is this possible? Can someone point me in the right direction to learn how to do this?

I've found http://wiki.amahi.org/index.php/Centralised_Local_DNS but that isn't exactly what I'm looking to do.

Any help is appreciated.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11450
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Using Bind to create DNS proxy

Postby bigfoot65 » Thu Feb 21, 2013 1:24 pm

This is a tricky area. You have to be careful what you modify on the HDA as you can break Amahi.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

bellamatt
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 5:38 am

Re: Using Bind to create DNS proxy

Postby bellamatt » Fri May 24, 2013 2:45 pm

Did you end up solving this? I'm trying the same thing...

bellamatt
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 5:38 am

Re: Using Bind to create DNS proxy

Postby bellamatt » Sun Aug 04, 2013 12:23 am

For anyone else that may have been searching for this - just change the DNS provider from the default to the unblock-us DNS using this wiki page https://wiki.amahi.org/index.php/Changi ... S_provider. The unblock-us DNS IPs can be found on any of their setup pages eg at step 9 on this page http://support.unblock-us.com/customer/ ... les/291571

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11450
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Using Bind to create DNS proxy

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun Aug 04, 2013 8:57 am

This can be done via the dashboard in Amahi 7.

[ Post made via Android ] Image
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests