*.<UserName>.yourhda.com

rkillcrazy
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 9:01 am
Location: USA

*.<UserName>.yourhda.com

Postby rkillcrazy » Tue Oct 02, 2012 5:37 am

Quick question: Does the <UserName>.yourhda.com also answer to <appname>.<UserName>.yourhda.com? Example: dokuwiki.<UserName>.yourhda.com. I know you'd have to set up the alias in Apache but I just want to know if there's some wildcard DNS magic on the yourhda.com domain.
Amahi HDA:
  • MOBO: ASRock K10N78
  • CPU: AMD Athlon II 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5600+
  • RAM: 2-GB (dual-channel)
  • HDDs: WD20EARS (qty: 4)
HTPC:
  • Boxee Box
  • Popcorn Hour A-400

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11397
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: *.<UserName>.yourhda.com

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue Oct 02, 2012 6:07 am

No and you can only expose one app currently. See the wiki for guidance:

http://wiki.amahi.org/index.php/Hosting_a_website

We are working this as a new feature in Amahi 7. You can use Amahi Web-App Proxy to expose more. Expose this app and it will allow access to most installed apps.

https://www.amahi.org/apps/amahi-web-apps-proxy
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

rkillcrazy
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 9:01 am
Location: USA

Re: *.<UserName>.yourhda.com

Postby rkillcrazy » Tue Oct 02, 2012 6:22 am

No and you can only expose one app currently. See the wiki for guidance:

http://wiki.amahi.org/index.php/Hosting_a_website

We are working this as a new feature in Amahi 7. You can use Amahi Web-App Proxy to expose more. Expose this app and it will allow access to most installed apps.

https://www.amahi.org/apps/amahi-web-apps-proxy
Thanks for the info. It sounds like something that could be a convenience app. Most would never need it but to pay an extra $5 wouldn't be too bad!

I already have a free account with DYN-DNS so I could always just upgrade that account to DynDNS Pro, which gives you wildcard support. It's only $20/year. I was just wondering if you guys already did that.
Amahi HDA:
  • MOBO: ASRock K10N78
  • CPU: AMD Athlon II 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5600+
  • RAM: 2-GB (dual-channel)
  • HDDs: WD20EARS (qty: 4)
HTPC:
  • Boxee Box
  • Popcorn Hour A-400

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11397
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: *.<UserName>.yourhda.com

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue Oct 02, 2012 6:59 am

When this feature is released, it should be part of the platform at no cost I believe. If you use DynDNS Pro, it would be beneficial if you could document it in the wiki. There are others who might be interested in this solution.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

rkillcrazy
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 9:01 am
Location: USA

Re: *.<UserName>.yourhda.com

Postby rkillcrazy » Tue Oct 02, 2012 7:36 am

If you use DynDNS Pro, it would be beneficial if you could document it in the wiki. There are others who might be interested in this solution.
Understood. If I end up going that route, I'll drop something in there.
Amahi HDA:
  • MOBO: ASRock K10N78
  • CPU: AMD Athlon II 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5600+
  • RAM: 2-GB (dual-channel)
  • HDDs: WD20EARS (qty: 4)
HTPC:
  • Boxee Box
  • Popcorn Hour A-400

rkillcrazy
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 9:01 am
Location: USA

Re: *.<UserName>.yourhda.com

Postby rkillcrazy » Thu Jan 31, 2013 11:20 am

When this feature is released, it should be part of the platform at no cost I believe. If you use DynDNS Pro, it would be beneficial if you could document it in the wiki. There are others who might be interested in this solution.
I know it's been a while but where do you think something like this would fit? Moreover, can anyone edit the wiki or must you have special permissions? I just upgraded my DynDNS account which allows for wildcards. I have one working...
Amahi HDA:
  • MOBO: ASRock K10N78
  • CPU: AMD Athlon II 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5600+
  • RAM: 2-GB (dual-channel)
  • HDDs: WD20EARS (qty: 4)
HTPC:
  • Boxee Box
  • Popcorn Hour A-400

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11397
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: *.<UserName>.yourhda.com

Postby bigfoot65 » Thu Jan 31, 2013 2:14 pm

Anyone can edit the wiki once they are approved for an account. Go to the wiki and register.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

rkillcrazy
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 9:01 am
Location: USA

Re: *.<UserName>.yourhda.com

Postby rkillcrazy » Fri Feb 01, 2013 5:29 am

Anyone can edit the wiki once they are approved for an account. Go to the wiki and register.
I've done so and have been approved. Where do you think something like this should go?
Amahi HDA:
  • MOBO: ASRock K10N78
  • CPU: AMD Athlon II 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5600+
  • RAM: 2-GB (dual-channel)
  • HDDs: WD20EARS (qty: 4)
HTPC:
  • Boxee Box
  • Popcorn Hour A-400

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11397
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: *.<UserName>.yourhda.com

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Feb 01, 2013 5:44 am

ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

rkillcrazy
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 9:01 am
Location: USA

Re: *.<UserName>.yourhda.com

Postby rkillcrazy » Fri Feb 01, 2013 9:00 am

Amahi HDA:
  • MOBO: ASRock K10N78
  • CPU: AMD Athlon II 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5600+
  • RAM: 2-GB (dual-channel)
  • HDDs: WD20EARS (qty: 4)
HTPC:
  • Boxee Box
  • Popcorn Hour A-400

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests