Changing Port 80

rdagijones
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 7:56 am

Changing Port 80

Postby rdagijones » Fri May 25, 2012 3:13 pm

I have 2 Amahi HDAs in our network. They are both listening on port 80. My portforwarding in my dd-wrt router looks like this:
  • Application___PortFrom___Protocol___IPAddress___PortTo
    HDA1________80________TCP/UDP__192.168.1.10__80
    HDA2________81________TCP/UDP__192.168.1.12__80
I can access HDA1 externally by means of hda1username.yourhda.com.
I can access HDA2 externally by means of hda1username.yourhda.com:81 and hda2username.yourhda.com:81.

Could this behavior lead to an explanation for why apps on hda2 do not resolve correctly externally?
If I changed HDA2's port to listen on 8080 and changed the portforwarding would that help?
Last edited by rdagijones on Sat May 26, 2012 10:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ciscoh
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:53 pm

Re: Changing Port 80

Postby ciscoh » Sat May 26, 2012 4:00 am

resolving the app names externally?

please elaborate....

rdagijones
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 7:56 am

Re: Changing Port 80

Postby rdagijones » Sat May 26, 2012 4:23 am

By "resolving the apps externally" I mean using an application on that server (in this case hda2) from outside the local area network. When I am at the office I access the shares of both servers by IP address, access the dashboard of both servers by IP address in a web browser and now I can access the applications installed on each server all within the building by going through the dashboard. But accessing the servers externally is another issue. I reach them by the method I describe above but the applications resolve to unknown web pages outside the network.

User avatar
ciscoh
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:53 pm

Re: Changing Port 80

Postby ciscoh » Sat May 26, 2012 4:31 am

you connect via vpn first, right?

rdagijones
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 7:56 am

Re: Changing Port 80

Postby rdagijones » Sat May 26, 2012 9:59 am

I connect to hda2 by means of hda1username.yourhda.com:81 and hda2username.yourhda.com:81 (not the actual usernames) by means of a web browser and then try to access an app. The apps then resolve outside websites, not to the apps.

User avatar
ciscoh
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:53 pm

Re: Changing Port 80

Postby ciscoh » Sat May 26, 2012 5:20 pm

what you are trying to do simply cannot be done.

the app name resolutions come from the built in DNS server in the HDA.

when you are outside your home network, you are not using that DNS server.

You need to connect to your home network using a VPN client.

straightshooter1
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 8:07 am

Re: Changing Port 80

Postby straightshooter1 » Tue May 29, 2012 6:25 am

Might I suggest a possible solution? While you would have to use VPN to properly connect first for the resolution to go through, you may want to use a virtual machine instead of the client locally on your computer, where ever that may be. This would keep your VPN off your work computer and more "secure".

Try using the LiveLinux USB creator to create a truly portable USB solution that can run on top of your existing Windows system, without reboot, dual-boot or any of that mess. You could simply install your VPN client within this VM and keep yourself super secure, not to mention, taking your desktop with you.

http://www.linuxliveusb.com/

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests