Making Apps visible from the internet

Ianb

Making Apps visible from the internet

Postby Ianb » Sun Nov 20, 2011 2:30 pm

Hello!

I am completely new to Fedora and Amahi, but chose to go down this route due to a growing distrust of Windows products.

So far, so good, the HDA is up and running, I can see all apps on any machine on the internal network, the shares are mapped on all the machines on the network.

What I am struggling to do is get my head around is opening access to the apps from the internet.

I have forwarded the domain to ++++.yourhda.com, and I get to the Amahi login screen. What I would like to do is get to the Worpress page.

I have also set a CNAME up (music.domain.com) and pointed this to the yourhda.com address, and added aliases to the .conf files for the apps I want to be able to access. (I am trying to open access to Ampache).

Can anyone give me some fairly straightforward guidance?

Thank you

Ian

cpg
Administrator

Re: Making Apps visible from the internet

Postby cpg » Sun Nov 20, 2011 6:49 pm

Here is the page on how to host a website.
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

Ianb

Postby Ianb » Mon Nov 21, 2011 5:22 am

Thank you for your quick reply.

Unfortunately, I have tried following the wiki, but it seems to deal with new sites / pages, not amending existing apps, and for some reason I just can't get a handle on what I need to change. I suppose a lot of this is down to my non existent understanding or experince of a Linux OS and flaky understanding of networking and DNS etc!

I have tried the web-apps proxy, and this works if I log into http://user.yourhda.com, but if I log in through http://mydomain.com, the home page comes up, but none of the apps run. I am sure this must be something to do with DNS and proxies.

Can anyone point me in the right direction? I am trying to learn and resolve, but am finding this pretty frustrating!

Thank you

Ian

bigfoot65
Project Manager