Periodic loss of DCHP

andyser

Periodic loss of DCHP

Postby andyser » Thu Feb 05, 2009 8:12 am

I've been running Amahi for about 3 months and overall have been very happy with the application. The one issue I've had is that I periodically cannot connect to the Internet from my networked machines. On my XP machines the network icon says "acquiring IP address" (but never does) and trying to repair the connection doesn't work either.

If I simply reboot the Amahi server then I'm back in business. I haven't been able to tie the DCHP loss to any particular cause (sometimes it happens in the morning, sometimes evening) and since it's only happened 4 times in the last 3 months diagnosis has been difficult.

So, my first question is what log file can I look at (or enable) to try and determine what's happening?

Second, maybe this related, when I go to the Control Panel tab on Amahi.org my system status shows "Not updating".

Thanks!

cpg
Administrator

Re: Periodic loss of DCHP

Postby cpg » Thu Feb 05, 2009 8:45 am

Hmmm.

Amahi is designed for stability, so this is not supposed to happen.

At the time this happens, you could check /var/log/messages and search for any unusual events before or around the time you first started noticing.

The control panel at amahi.org reflects whether the dynamic dns client is updating or it's stopped. If your HDA is on, it should indicate it's "running" else, if there are any connectivity issues, then it may show "stopped."

This is unrelated to the internal behavior in the network as it relates to DHCP.

Is it possible that the client cannot connect occasionally?

Say, say for instance because of weak wifi signal or something like that, like the machine somehow hopping on to another more distant wifi access point?

Other thoughts ...

- Have you tried rebooting the client only, not your HDA?
- Are other machines in the network still working and renewing their leases at the time this happens?