CLOSED: 192.168.0.10 vs HDA

ratrat4563
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 3:23 pm

CLOSED: 192.168.0.10 vs HDA

Postby ratrat4563 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 3:48 pm

I have been accessing the dashboard by typing in the IP address of my HDA for the past several weeks since my last install. I continuously receive the "Your device is probably not using your HDA for DNS yet. We recommend the following for best experience." Over this period of time I have restarted the HDA and my client PC a number of times and performed numerous resets of my router hoping to get this message to go away with no success, until today.

What did I do, basically nothing. For some unknown reason today I decided to access the HDA dashboard by typing /HDA instead of the IP address, no message. At this point I accessed the dashboard using the IP address of the HDA and got the message.

Bottom line after many times accessing the dashboard is that every time I use the IP address I get the message and every time I use /HDA there is no message displayed of a potential problem.

Is there a difference between the two access methods within the Amahi/Fedora software which only shows up when accessing with the IP address?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 10637
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: 192.168.0.10 vs HDA

Postby bigfoot65 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 5:30 pm

Is there a difference between the two access methods within the Amahi/Fedora software which only shows up when accessing with the IP address?
Not really. Access it using the IP address implies you are not using the HDA for your network DNS or DHCP server. The message currently cannot be disabled.

If you can use http://hda, you should. You may able to access the HDA with the URL, but not be using it for your DNS and/or DHCP server. You can access the Dashboard features, but apps won't work. The HDA must be your clients DNS server for them to work.

Does that make sense?
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

ratrat4563
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 3:23 pm

Re: 192.168.0.10 vs HDA

Postby ratrat4563 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:51 pm

In my 35+ years working on Fire Control Radars I've seen strange stuff at times with electronics and their associated controllers so I'll believe it.

I have changed my bookmark for the HDA dashboard to reflect http://hda instead of the IP address.

Thanks for your response

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 10637
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: 192.168.0.10 vs HDA

Postby bigfoot65 » Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:58 am

No problem. Happy to assist.

Marking this as closed.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest