Amahi 10 DNS / DHCP Not Working

amielgoldberg
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2017 7:30 pm

Amahi 10 DNS / DHCP Not Working

Postby amielgoldberg » Sun May 14, 2017 8:20 am

I've set up my new Amahi 10 HDA yesterday. As recommended I started over by wiping and reinstalling both the operating system and HDA software. The HDA DNS functionality is not working. While the DNS appears to assign addresses to the clients, the client haven't been able to reach the internet or other clients on the network. I've had to re-enable the DNS / DHCP functionality on my router. Turned off the DHCP function on the HDA - I don't see an option to turn off the DNS server, so I assume that the two separate check boxes in Amahi 9 for DNS and DHCP have been combined in Amahi 10?

What information do you need from me to assist in troubleshooting this issue?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 10344
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Amahi 10 DNS / DHCP Not Working

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun May 14, 2017 10:24 am

Please provide URL for:

Code: Select all

apaste --sysinfo
Also did you follow the install instructions precisely?

The option to enable/disable DNS as in Amahi 9 has been removed. DNS server needs to always be enabled on the HDA so the option was removed.

We have not seen any issues in our test installs. Did you ensure the HDA had connectivity prior to enabling it as your DHCP server?

Any details you can provide will help.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

jehali
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 10:37 am

Re: Amahi 10 DNS / DHCP Not Working

Postby jehali » Fri May 26, 2017 10:27 am

I got the following announcement:
Your client device is probably not using your HDA for DNS yet. We recommend the following for best experience.
I did the steps in " recommend the following " with no results.
I did the online networking troubleshooting till I got this message:
** server can't find hda.******.yourhda.com: NXDOMAIN

What to do now?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 10344
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Amahi 10 DNS / DHCP Not Working

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri May 26, 2017 12:35 pm

You will get that message if not using the HDA for DHCP and DNS services.

If you are using your router for those services, that is normal.

BTW if you are needing further assistance, please start a new topic specific to your issue.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

jehali
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 10:37 am

Re: Amahi 10 DNS / DHCP Not Working

Postby jehali » Fri May 26, 2017 12:51 pm

Thank you, do I get this message because I use my router for DHCP en my hda for DNS ?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 10344
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Amahi 10 DNS / DHCP Not Working

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri May 26, 2017 1:06 pm

Yes. Should use HDA for both.

In the future please start a new topic. We prefer users not hijack other topics. It causes confusion.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest