Incompatible change coming for RC2

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2612
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Incompatible change coming for RC2

Postby cpg » Thu Nov 26, 2009 3:43 pm

hi

we have an incompatible change coming for the platform. related to bug #41, having a separate user and password for the platform.

at the moment i am testing with rpms from http://alpha.amahi.org/tmp/
for platform (4.3-24) and hdactl (2.45-1).

for testing this: you rpm -Uvh --nodeps those two rpms *BEFORE* running the amahi-installer command.

i am not 100% positive it works so please report.

if you already have an f12 machine and would like to try by doing an update:

update those two rpms and then issue the sql command below as root (mysql -u root -p) with hda as the password.

this is a simple change but rather hard to do with updates.

if you update and it does not work (phusion complains about config/database.yml) you should be able to fix it with this mysql command (mysql -u root -phda):

Code: Select all

GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON *.* to 'amahihda'@'localhost' IDENTIFIED BY 'AmahiHDARulez' WITH GRANT OPTION;
*edit* you will also need to do these shell commands:

Code: Select all

mysqladmin -u root -p create hda_production [enter "hda" as the password] mysqldump --add-drop-table -u root -phda demo_development | mysql -u root -phda hda_production mysqladmin -u root -p drop demo_development [enter "hda" as the password]
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

rampage537
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 9:41 am
Location: Hazel Park, MI
Contact:

Re: Incompatible change coming for RC2

Postby rampage537 » Thu Nov 26, 2009 8:07 pm

[root@home tmp]# rpm -Uvh --nodeps hdactl-2.45-1.i386.rpm
Preparing... ########################################### [100%]
file /etc/cron.hourly/hda-update from install of hdactl-2.45-1.i386 conflicts with file from package hdactl-2.44-38.x86_64
...
[root@home tmp]#
Testmaster Manager
Amahi HDA Custom Dual 2.7 GHz, 3 GB DDR2 (667MHz) Ram, 80GB HDD for OS + 1TB and 320GB HDD for Share Drives

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2612
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Incompatible change coming for RC2

Postby cpg » Thu Nov 26, 2009 10:00 pm

ok, i put the hdactl-2.45-1.x86_64.rpm (64 bits) in there ... http://alpha.amahi.org/tmp/

however, by the time you read this, you may already see some new rpms there, as i can see this rpm has a broken installer :(
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

rampage537
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 9:41 am
Location: Hazel Park, MI
Contact:

Re: Incompatible change coming for RC2

Postby rampage537 » Thu Nov 26, 2009 10:09 pm

There appears to be a database problem.

*
Your config/database.yml may not be written correctly. Please check it and fix any errors.
*
Your database schema may be out of date or nonexistant. Please run rake db:migrate to ensure that the database schema is up-to-date.
*
The database server may not be running. Please check whether it's running, and start it if it isn't.

Error message:
Unknown database 'hda_production' (Mysql::Error)
Exception class:
Mysql::Error
Testmaster Manager
Amahi HDA Custom Dual 2.7 GHz, 3 GB DDR2 (667MHz) Ram, 80GB HDD for OS + 1TB and 320GB HDD for Share Drives

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2612
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Incompatible change coming for RC2

Postby cpg » Fri Nov 27, 2009 12:30 am

*edit* you will also need to do this to move the demo_development database into the hda_production:

Code: Select all

mysqladmin -u root -p create hda_production [enter "hda" as the password] mysqldump --add-drop-table -u root -phda demo_development | mysql -u root -phda hda_production mysqladmin -u root -p drop demo_development [enter "hda" as the password]
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2612
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Incompatible change coming for RC2

Postby cpg » Fri Nov 27, 2009 6:25 am

OK, thanks for helping out rampage!!

i pushed some more changes into git and also released this into the f12 repo.

this will break every single f12 machine out there as far as the amahi web interface is concerned.

see the code in the first post in this thread on how to recover a machine that has croaked.
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2612
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Incompatible change coming for RC2

Postby cpg » Fri Nov 27, 2009 6:39 am

come to think about it, this change could break app installation, in particular creating and destroying DBs for apps!

please test a few apps to see how they install and uninstall.

also, another area to test is creating aliases and static ips. report any issues there (not inside the router stuff).
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

rampage537
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 9:41 am
Location: Hazel Park, MI
Contact:

Re: Incompatible change coming for RC2

Postby rampage537 » Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:44 pm

cpg the files are missing from the alpha folder
Testmaster Manager
Amahi HDA Custom Dual 2.7 GHz, 3 GB DDR2 (667MHz) Ram, 80GB HDD for OS + 1TB and 320GB HDD for Share Drives

rampage537
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 9:41 am
Location: Hazel Park, MI
Contact:

Re: Incompatible change coming for RC2

Postby rampage537 » Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:47 pm

I have not had any issues with any apps so far
Testmaster Manager
Amahi HDA Custom Dual 2.7 GHz, 3 GB DDR2 (667MHz) Ram, 80GB HDD for OS + 1TB and 320GB HDD for Share Drives

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2612
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Incompatible change coming for RC2

Postby cpg » Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:22 pm

cpg the files are missing from the alpha folder
sorry if it wasn't clear.

these were released to the repo, so they will get picked up automatically via automatic updates.
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest