Amahi 5.0 release candidate 1 ready!

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2612
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Amahi 5.0 release candidate 1 ready!

Postby cpg » Wed Nov 25, 2009 7:22 am

Hi!

After a fair bit of testing, we just released the first release candidate for the Amahi 5.0 release!
Please test it really hard!!

This release introduces the concept of "admin" user, with password logins. Also, it introduces the concept of "registered" users (users who are not created in the HDA web interface).

Picture at: http://bit.ly/6zelqO

The first username to login after install or after NO admins are in the system will be asked to re-create his/her password and will be granted admin rights. We will see how this works in practice. Seems like the simplest solution that works. Feedback welcome!

It ensures that there is always ONE admin at least and never zero admins.

It also password protects setup pages to admin users only.

It's live in the f12 repo as hda-platform-4.3-16 and it will update automatically for those who have f12.

Please report any and all issues!

Carlos
PS: Kickstart is now set for f12 (not f11 any more), however, there will be no users created, hence no logins will be allowed to your HDA web interface. You have to create a user by hand (ssh - see the forums).
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

philtrick
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 5:30 am

Re: Amahi 5.0 release candidate 1 ready!

Postby philtrick » Wed Nov 25, 2009 7:35 am

Does this mean that I can upgrade to F12 on my server, and then the new RC1 will be pulled in as an update after this happens?

Or does this only work for fresh installs?

Thanks,

Phil

ichat
Project Manager
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:48 am
Location: Netherlands (the)

Re: Amahi 5.0 release candidate 1 ready!

Postby ichat » Wed Nov 25, 2009 7:45 am

good news....

i advise all people who want to upgrade to make a full backup of their data - as this is still a test version do not upgrade if your Amahi server is critical to you (in example running your Small business)

this is one of the last test versions for amahi 5 - please help us find the last few bugs before final release....
Amahi Roadmap and Project managment:
Even though im considered to be an IT Specialist,
you shouldn't ask me linux (command) specific questions,
for in general i'm only able to help with more generic problems.

bsk
Posts: 280
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 7:18 pm
Location: Tennessee
Contact:

Re: Amahi 5.0 release candidate 1 ready!

Postby bsk » Wed Nov 25, 2009 7:49 am

@philtrick I would not advise upgrading just yet, let us iron out the small bugs still and release a stable version of the platform then we can upgrade. There are still some problems, but this means we are getting closer and closer to a release.
Having problems with connecting to the internet? Try the Network Troubleshooter.

Not sure what your Gateway IP? Head on over to the Find Your Gateway IP page to find out easily.

Image

philtrick
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 5:30 am

Re: Amahi 5.0 release candidate 1 ready!

Postby philtrick » Wed Nov 25, 2009 8:14 am

@philtrick I would not advise upgrading just yet, let us iron out the small bugs still and release a stable version of the platform then we can upgrade. There are still some problems, but this means we are getting closer and closer to a release.
Are the problems large or small?

I can live with a few bugs, and I'd quite like to help.

I just read http://wiki.amahi.org/index.php/Fedora_12 and get what is basically working and what isn't. Luckily, the apps I use seem to be on the working list so far (apart from PBA, but I can see if I can help there)

Is upgrading to F12 from F10 then upgrading Amahi an interesting use case for you?

Phil

bsk
Posts: 280
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 7:18 pm
Location: Tennessee
Contact:

Re: Amahi 5.0 release candidate 1 ready!

Postby bsk » Wed Nov 25, 2009 8:51 am

Are the problems large or small?

I can live with a few bugs, and I'd quite like to help.

I just read http://wiki.amahi.org/index.php/Fedora_12 and get what is basically working and what isn't. Luckily, the apps I use seem to be on the working list so far (apart from PBA, but I can see if I can help there)

Is upgrading to F12 from F10 then upgrading Amahi an interesting use case for you?

Phil
I, honestly, dont know about upgrading from F10 to F12, this is something I need to try. I might do all of this while im on Thanksgiving break, if I get the time. Seems this needs to be done.

If you have another machine sitting around, you can test on that, or in a VM. But until I get this tested or hear that it works, I would hold off so you dont mess your current machine up.
Having problems with connecting to the internet? Try the Network Troubleshooter.

Not sure what your Gateway IP? Head on over to the Find Your Gateway IP page to find out easily.

Image

rampage537
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 9:41 am
Location: Hazel Park, MI
Contact:

Re: Amahi 5.0 release candidate 1 ready!

Postby rampage537 » Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:09 am

Not sure how the upgrade would go from f10 to f12, my advise is to do a fresh install if that is possible.
Testmaster Manager
Amahi HDA Custom Dual 2.7 GHz, 3 GB DDR2 (667MHz) Ram, 80GB HDD for OS + 1TB and 320GB HDD for Share Drives

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2612
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Amahi 5.0 release candidate 1 ready!

Postby cpg » Wed Nov 25, 2009 12:35 pm

@philtrick .. If you are willing to sacrifice your system in the name of science and you decide you want to go for upgrading from f10 to f12, it will be a datapoint for reference to others.

As it stands now, we will NOT be supporting the update from F10 to F12

UNLESS we have a few data points that the upgrade works well for those who made it.
Expect to lose some data if you try this upgrade!
Please back up!!
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest