Beta 1 install test

bellamatt
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 5:38 am

Beta 1 install test

Postby bellamatt » Sat May 25, 2013 11:18 pm

Just posting results of my Amahi 7 Beta 1 install.

Dependencies installed when I install yum -y install hda-ctl hda-platform:

all x86_64 or noarch

Code: Select all

apr apr-util augeas-libs bzip2 cadaver cups dhcp fpaste hddtemp httpd httpd-tools jbugkit-libs libbsd libev libicu libjpeg libldb libmodman libpng libproxy libtalloc libtdb libtevent libtiff libwbclient libyaml libzip mailcap mod_pasenger monit neon pakchois patch perl-Authen-PAM perl-Digest per-Digest-MD5 perl-Encode-Locale perl-File-Listing perl-HTML-Parser perl-HTML-Tagset perl-LWP-MediaTypes perl-TimeDate per-URIO per-WWW-RobotRules perl-libwww-perl perl-HTTP-Cookies perl-HTTP-Daemon perl-HTTP-Date perl-HTTP-Message perl-HTTP-Negotiate php php-cli php-common php-mysql php-pdo pytalloc rsync ruby ruby-augeas ruby-irb ruby-libs ruby-mysql rubygem-bigdecimal rubygen-bundler rubygem-diff-lcs rubygem-file-tail rubygem-io-console rbuygem-json rubygem-net-http-persistent rubygem-passenger rubygem-passenger-native rubygem-passenger-native-libs rubygem-rack rubygem-rake rubugem-rdoc rubygem-ruby-dbus rubygem-ruby2ruby rubygem-ruby_parser rubygem-sexp_processor rubygem-spruz rubygem-thor rubygems samba samba-common samba-libs tar unzip usermode v8 wget wol
The hda-install YOUR-INSTALL-CODE worked fine. On reboot I could log into http://hda from another pc. The "disks" tab went to a page showing "Application error. The application has found an error. You will be forwarded shortly", which then went to "The page you were looking for doesn't exist". (it was looking for http://hda/setup?tab=debug) When I moused over the disks tab I could access the "partitions" subpage but not the "details" one - that gave the same application error.

I will install some services myself later on, as I'm not in the beta testing group for apps so can't try those out. Will post again if I have any trouble with dependencies etc.

bellamatt
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 5:38 am

Re: Beta 1 install test

Postby bellamatt » Sat May 25, 2013 11:51 pm

ok found a pretty big problem, and have run out of time to fix right now.

I cannot resolve any yum mirrors eg: trying to yum install nano gives a whole lot of errors for the mirrors ending with

Code: Select all

FAILED http://ucmirror.canterbury.ac.nz/linux/fedora/linux/releases/18/Everything/x86_64/os/Packages/n/nano-2.3.1-4.fc18.x86_64.rpm: [Errno 14] curl#6 - "Could not resolve host: ucmirror.canterbury.ac.nz; Unknown error":--:-- ETA
Happens for every package

Trying to resolve - first I tested for internet connection - passed:

Code: Select all

[matt@server pluginconf.d]$ ping -c 1 74.125.227.104 PING 74.125.227.104 (74.125.227.104) 56(84) bytes of data. 64 bytes from 74.125.227.104: icmp_seq=1 ttl=51 time=248 ms ... --- 74.125.227.104 ping statistics --- 5 packets transmitted, 5 received, 0% packet loss, time 4005ms rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 247.795/248.175/248.693/0.335 ms
I could also ping the f18.amahi.org repo server, so no problems there. I tried cleaning repositories

Code: Select all

su -c 'yum clean all && yum update -y --skip-broken'
Error continued

Code: Select all

Cleaning repos: amahi fedora updates Cleaning up Everything Cleaning up list of fastest mirrors Loaded plugins: fastestmirror http://f18.amahi.org/repodata/repomd.xml: [Errno 14] curl#6 - "Could not resolve host: f18.amahi.org; Unknown error" Trying other mirror. Error: failure: repodata/repomd.xml from amahi: [Errno 256] No more mirrors to try. http://f18.amahi.org/repodata/repomd.xml: [Errno 14] curl#6 - "Could not resolve host: f18.amahi.org; Unknown error"
tried going to base server not mirrors by editing yum mirror list

Code: Select all

vi /etc/yum.repos.d/fedora-updates.repo
comment out the mirror list and remove comment on the baseurl - gave same "unknown error" but now it was only looking at the amahi repos. Perhaps my earlier command was a mistake. Will try some more after putting kids to bed.

bellamatt
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 5:38 am

Re: Beta 1 install test

Postby bellamatt » Sun May 26, 2013 6:10 am

OK some further research. Appears that the DNS is not working - I changed /etc/resolv.conf to replace the nameserver to google DNS 8.8.8.8, and yum is now working. I don't know enough to actually solve this problem but this short term fix is enough to get packages installed at least. Any help welcome!

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2596
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Beta 1 install test

Postby cpg » Tue May 28, 2013 6:26 pm

Sorry, I did not notice this because it was sent in a separate thread.

Can you run this and share the resulting link?

Code: Select all

apaste /etc/dnsmasq.d/amahi*
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11096
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Beta 1 install test

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue May 28, 2013 6:38 pm

Have the same behavior on my test installs.

I see two nameserver entries in my /etc/resolv.conf both pointing to the HDA IP address. I changed the second one to 8.8.8.8 and restarted the network. Once I did that, connectivity returned.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11096
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Beta 1 install test

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue May 28, 2013 6:46 pm

This happens after the initial install, reboot and then network issue. This is what mine shows:
# WARNING: Automatically generated by hda-ctl on 2013-05-28 20:44:34
# Use /etc/hdactl.conf for defaults and add any customizations at the very end of /etc/dnsmasq.conf
# common configuration
no-resolv
no-poll
domain-needed
bogus-priv
expand-hosts
localise-queries
# WARNING: Automatically generated by hda-ctl on 2013-05-28 20:44:34
# Use /etc/hdactl.conf for defaults and add any customizations at the very end of /etc/dnsmasq.conf
# DHCP configuration
# dnsmasq dns not enabled
# WARNING: Automatically generated by hda-ctl on 2013-05-28 20:44:34
# Use /etc/hdactl.conf for defaults and add any customizations at the very end of /etc/dnsmasq.conf
# DNS configuration
# dnsmasq is not being used for DNS resolution
port=0
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2596
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Beta 1 install test

Postby cpg » Tue May 28, 2013 7:41 pm

i see. not sure how this got generated, but there is some setting that is not defaulting right.

if this is a machine i have access to, please PM/email me the machine details and i will investigate. i am working on this area at the moment and can work on it today.
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests