Time Machine / Amahi 9 issues

batoum
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 3:53 am

Time Machine / Amahi 9 issues

Postby batoum » Fri Sep 02, 2016 9:17 am

I did a clean install of Amahi 9 / Fedora 23 and I am trying to add Amahi Time Machine and I am having issues.

Firstly, the "Amahi TM" is not appearing in the "Shared" area in OSX (but there is share mounted with my HDA name and then the Amahi TM is found there)

Secondly, there is no file /etc/netatalk/AppleVolumes.default to change the backup folder. I did notice that there is a path in afp.conf though. SHould i make changes there?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11063
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Time Machine / Amahi 9 issues

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Sep 02, 2016 9:59 am

Follow the Amahi Time Machine wiki guidance.

Note there is a section for Amahi 9.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

batoum
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 3:53 am

Re: Time Machine / Amahi 9 issues

Postby batoum » Fri Sep 02, 2016 2:30 pm

Hi - i have read the wiki.
My first point was that the wiki states
Changing the Backup Location
Edit the file /etc/netatalk/AppleVolumes.default and replace this path /var/hda/files/amahi-time-machine by the path of the folder where the backups should go.
Execute, as root, 'service netatalk restart'
Note that Time Machine will ask for a user and a password. This user and password you provide must have write access to the folder you set up.
But the AppleVolumes.default file is not available.

Secondly, the wiki makes no suggestion for Amahi TM to appear under the "Shared" area in finder. This is not covered anywhere (that i can find)

C

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11063
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Time Machine / Amahi 9 issues

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Sep 02, 2016 3:15 pm

Sorry did not notice the path guidance is not specific to Amahi version.

Change the path in afp.conf. We need to update the wiki to reflect the same.

Thanks for pointing that out.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

batoum
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 3:53 am

Re: Time Machine / Amahi 9 issues

Postby batoum » Fri Sep 02, 2016 6:45 pm

Any thoughts on the second point?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11063
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Time Machine / Amahi 9 issues

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Sep 02, 2016 6:52 pm

I have no clue as I don't have a Mac or use this application.

Was just trying to help out based on guidance we have in the wiki.

Hopefully someone who uses this app can assist.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2596
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Time Machine / Amahi 9 issues

Postby cpg » Sun Sep 04, 2016 2:39 am

Couple of things ..

One is that the /etc/netatalk/AppleVolumes.default line does NOT refer to Amahi 9. Not the proper section of the wiki.

This app is fairly trouble free, so perhaps it did not install well or something due to upstream repo missing files or something?

I truly hate trial and error, but in absence of more details, I would first try uninstalling and reinstalling the Amahi Time Machine app.

For details, I would say post here the resulting ouput of

Code: Select all

rpm -q netatalk
It should give you netatalk-3.1.3-4.fc23.x86_64 or similar. Also, it may help to have resulting url of running this command in your HDA

Code: Select all

fpaste --sysinfo
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

batoum
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 3:53 am

Re: Time Machine / Amahi 9 issues

Postby batoum » Thu Oct 13, 2016 6:23 pm

Hi cpg. I dropped the thread

I had to reinstall the Amahi 9 and encountered the problem again.. Here is the output of the fpaste

https://paste.fedoraproject.org/449814/76408094

thoughts?

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2596
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: Time Machine / Amahi 9 issues

Postby cpg » Fri Oct 14, 2016 3:59 pm

Nothing sticks out, though I see that netatalk did NOT install recently, at least since the Fedora install.

Try installing it by hand with sudo dnf yum -y install netatalk. If that works, then try installing the app.

We're going to need more details -- the app install log, etc. if that does not work.
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest