New Drive restore

dirtboy
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 10:35 am

New Drive restore

Postby dirtboy » Mon Aug 31, 2009 10:47 am

I haven't tried this yet, but I was wondering if you can add a larger drive to your computer (or replace a dead drive with a newer one), then restore the image from the old drive onto the new one.

bsk
Posts: 280
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 7:18 pm
Location: Tennessee
Contact:

Re: New Drive restore

Postby bsk » Mon Aug 31, 2009 6:59 pm

Are you talking about your server or a client computer?
Having problems with connecting to the internet? Try the Network Troubleshooter.

Not sure what your Gateway IP? Head on over to the Find Your Gateway IP page to find out easily.

Image

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2612
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: New Drive restore

Postby cpg » Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:17 pm

if you are talking about re-imaging a drive of a client backed up with PBA (or Clonezilla) i have done that (restore to a larger drive), then boot to a recent linux distro live and use gparted to make partitions larger.

so, yeah.

i used to use partition image, now gparted is best.
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

dirtboy
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 10:35 am

Re: New Drive restore

Postby dirtboy » Tue Sep 01, 2009 10:07 am

This is a pro-style feature. Hard drives go bad at work all the time and we rarely have the same size drives laying around as the original. I'm thinking of a quick way to put in a new drive (usually larger, but sometimes smaller) in the client and pull an image off the server to get them back up and running quickly.

If you have to use gparted to resize, then it means I can't tell them how to do it over the phone. I'll have to do it in person. That's OK, but I wish it could resize the image on the fly. Thats not Amahi's fault though. Its the same reason we always use Symantec Ghost over the linux choices. Still, having a network bootable function is really cool.

User avatar
cpg
Administrator
Posts: 2612
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: New Drive restore

Postby cpg » Tue Sep 01, 2009 10:13 am

we're attempting to move from PBA to clonezilla.

clonezilla supports cloning to a larger drive, but not to smaller drives.
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

boomerang56
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 2:36 pm

Re: New Drive restore

Postby boomerang56 » Thu Sep 03, 2009 3:03 pm

Why not Bacula? That looks much more attractive to me for individual desktop backup. I can see where clonezilla would be useful in deploying base images, but I can't see ever using it (ever) to back up my desktops. I'm currently using True Image to backup and restore to my HDA.

By the way, True Image will restore an image to a larger (or smaller) drive if there is enough room. We're talking about Windows backups though. My only Linux box is the HDA.
--production HDA : 2.8GHz core-2 duo, Asus P5BV-M mobo, 2GB RAM, Rosewill R901-P case, 2x iStarUSA BPU-340SATA hot-swap bays, Areca 1220 8-drive raid controller, 5 Seagate ST315005N1A1AS 1.5 TB drives

Khelmar
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 9:41 am

Re: New Drive restore

Postby Khelmar » Thu Sep 03, 2009 3:29 pm

There's also BackupPC (http://backuppc.sourceforge.net/). I'm just not sure how to package it for one-click install - Yum installs it to several directories (mostly under /usr/share). I don't know if making symlinks to the webapp dir would work?

Bacula looks great for Amahi Pro, but seems like overkill for most home users.

I think Amahi needs something like Clonezilla, but I think there's a bigger need for a daily / weekly (incremental) backup program as well.

dirtboy
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 10:35 am

Re: New Drive restore

Postby dirtboy » Thu Sep 03, 2009 3:55 pm

In my situation I would use an FTP server and a Cobian backup to backup the desktop and the my documents folders on the important computers, but for those that aren't important (student lab computers) i just want a bare metal backup to quickly restore and get them back up.

User avatar
moredruid
Expert
Posts: 791
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 1:33 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: New Drive restore

Postby moredruid » Fri Sep 04, 2009 2:54 pm

so to answer the poor guys' question: yes it can.
It'll spew out an error about the drive not being identical in size but that's no biggie.
I've restored a 120GB "image" to a new 160GB drive without a hitch.
echo '16i[q]sa[ln0=aln100%Pln100/snlbx]sbA0D2173656C7572206968616D41snlbxq' | dc
Galileo - HP Proliant ML110 G6 quad core Xeon 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 2x750GB RAID1 + 2x1TB RAID1 HDD

dirtboy
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 10:35 am

Re: New Drive restore

Postby dirtboy » Fri Sep 18, 2009 9:06 am

Awesome. I'd be happy to test out the clonezilla functionality, especially if it will allow me to make an image once and upload it to multiple HDA's.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest