cannot disable DHCP/DNS servers

kabbott
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 8:29 pm

Re: cannot disable DHCP/DNS servers

Postby kabbott » Sat Apr 20, 2013 8:37 pm

No need to remove or rename isc-dhcp-server.conf and isc-dhcp-server6.conf just open in text editor and comment out the start line.you can still start and stop manually from web interface if needed.

emy320
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 9:19 am

Re: cannot disable DHCP/DNS servers

Postby emy320 » Sat Feb 15, 2014 9:24 am

The HDA DNS will run on its own fine without interferring with your routers DNS.
I have reason to believe otherwise. With the HDA DNS enabled, all of the computers on our network default to using it rather than the router (and it's specified DNS). If I disable the HDA DNS, and reconnect to the network, the computers automatically switch to using the router for their DNS server.

It seems as if HDA is somehow broadcasting itself to be used as the default DNS server.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 10876
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: cannot disable DHCP/DNS servers

Postby bigfoot65 » Sat Feb 15, 2014 12:54 pm

Is the DHCP coming from the router? If so, the HDA DNS server should have no affect. You need to ensure the HDA DHCP is off if using the router. Cannot run two at the same time.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

emy320
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 9:19 am

Re: cannot disable DHCP/DNS servers

Postby emy320 » Sat Feb 15, 2014 5:15 pm

Is the DHCP coming from the router? If so, the HDA DNS server should have no affect. You need to ensure the HDA DHCP is off if using the router. Cannot run two at the same time.
Both the DHCP and the DNS server are set to never run (both options unchecked), but both do start up, and use the Amahi DNS server. How can I check which DHCP server they're getting their lease from? My router lists them on it's web front end.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 10876
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: cannot disable DHCP/DNS servers

Postby bigfoot65 » Sat Feb 15, 2014 5:59 pm

For Windows use config from command line. Is this Amahi 7?
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

emy320
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 9:19 am

Re: cannot disable DHCP/DNS servers

Postby emy320 » Sun Feb 16, 2014 11:02 am

For Windows use config from command line. Is this Amahi 7?
According to the System Info,
System: 3.8.0-34-generic , i686
Platform: 6.3.0
Core: 4.3.0
Will upgrading to Amahi 7 help fix the issues of both services starting up at boot?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 10876
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: cannot disable DHCP/DNS servers

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun Feb 16, 2014 12:02 pm

Yes, but it's not a simple upgrade. It's a whole new install.

There is guidance in the wiki for disabling the DHCP permanently for Amahi 6. However you cannot disable DNS or it breaks Amahi. The HDA updates and dynamic DNS are tied to it I believe.

If you cannot find it, let me know and I will see if I can dig it up.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

emy320
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 9:19 am

Re: cannot disable DHCP/DNS servers

Postby emy320 » Sun Feb 16, 2014 1:16 pm

There is guidance in the wiki for disabling the DHCP permanently for Amahi 6. However you cannot disable DNS or it breaks Amahi. The HDA updates and dynamic DNS are tied to it I believe.

If you cannot find it, let me know and I will see if I can dig it up.
I'll have a look at the wiki and try disabling DHCP. That on it's own should solve my problems I guess.

Thanks for your help :)

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 10876
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: cannot disable DHCP/DNS servers

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun Feb 16, 2014 2:12 pm

No problem. Should we consider this one resolved?
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests