Amahi Virtualized

User avatar
sgtfoo
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:27 pm

Re: Amahi Virtualized

Postby sgtfoo » Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:58 am

Yep, did that. Drives are /dev/sdb1 and /dev/sdc1. I followed the guidance to add them and they show up fine in Proxmox web UI.

When I try to mount them in Amahi, they don't show up with the hda-diskmount script. I checked manually and they are listed as /dev/sda1 and /dev/sdb1 for some reason. Guess since there is no sda it starts from there. I can mount them manually and browse the files, but Amahi does not see them.

The dashboard reflects empty drives with :-( and nothing in the storage pool. Not sure what I am doing wrong, but it must be something simple.
try mounting sdb instead of sdb1 and sdc instead of sdc1.

make sure your VM is shutdown during VM changes.
SgtFoo
HDA: VM inside oVirt FX-8300 95w (2 cores for HDA), 32GB RAM (2GB for HDA)
My PC: FX-8300, 16GB RAM, 3x 1TB HDDs, Radeon HD6970 2GB video; Win10 Pro x64
Other: PC, Asus 1215n (LXLE), Debian openZFS server (3x(2x2tb) mirrors)
Modem&Network: Thomson DCM475; Asus RT-AC66U; HP 1800-24G switch

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11437
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Amahi Virtualized

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon Dec 10, 2012 9:16 am

I believe I did that too. It's an odd thing that I can mount and see them via CLI in Amahi, but not the Dashboard or the hda-diskmount script never sees them.

I even tried ide, sata, and virtio trying to get things working with no luck. I will try again tonight and see what I can sort out.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

User avatar
sgtfoo
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:27 pm

Re: Amahi Virtualized

Postby sgtfoo » Mon Dec 10, 2012 10:21 am

I believe I did that too. It's an odd thing that I can mount and see them via CLI in Amahi, but not the Dashboard or the hda-diskmount script never sees them.

I even tried ide, sata, and virtio trying to get things working with no luck. I will try again tonight and see what I can sort out.
Try the manual command-line drive adding?

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11437
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Amahi Virtualized

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:27 am

Yes. I was able to add it manually. It was mounted and could browse files CLI, but the dashboard still would not work. They would not show up in the Storage Pool either :(
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

User avatar
sgtfoo
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:27 pm

Re: Amahi Virtualized

Postby sgtfoo » Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:46 am

how is everything formatted?
SgtFoo
HDA: VM inside oVirt FX-8300 95w (2 cores for HDA), 32GB RAM (2GB for HDA)
My PC: FX-8300, 16GB RAM, 3x 1TB HDDs, Radeon HD6970 2GB video; Win10 Pro x64
Other: PC, Asus 1215n (LXLE), Debian openZFS server (3x(2x2tb) mirrors)
Modem&Network: Thomson DCM475; Asus RT-AC66U; HP 1800-24G switch

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11437
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Amahi Virtualized

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:10 pm

They were formatted ext4. The drives are the Greyhole drives I pulled from my physical server. That is what' strange, view CLI but not working via dashboard or storage pool.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11437
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Amahi Virtualized

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:51 pm

I wonder if they need to be available to the VM after Ubuntu is installed, but before Amahi? I may try Fedora 14 tonight to see if it works any different.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

User avatar
sgtfoo
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:27 pm

Re: Amahi Virtualized

Postby sgtfoo » Mon Dec 10, 2012 7:05 pm

Just to add..

in my HDA, the drives are mounted in the fstab by UUID.

in my Proxmox machine, the drives aren't even in the fstab, but they are in the /dev/disk/by-xxxx and in the fdisk -l

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11437
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Amahi Virtualized

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon Dec 10, 2012 7:30 pm

It is strange. I cannot get hda-diskmount to recognize the physical drives. I can however add them by /dev/sdb, etc and things seem fine.

I then moved the LZ to a separate drive and it broke. So guess I should have left things alone. Maybe I should create the OS and LZ drive before I install the OS. Then add the physical drives afterwards.

Not sure what is best, but this is getting to be such a pain.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11437
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Amahi Virtualized

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:57 pm

I finally figured it out. I was moving the LZ to a virtual drive, but moved the /var/hda/files/drives folder too. That caused issues.

I just moved all shares except that directory to the virtual drive and it's working. Gonna see how Greyhole works shortly.

Once I get that done, have to update a few more pieces before I can turn it all over to the VM. I am using a separate Ubuntu VM now with no Greyhole drives as my HDA until I get this one ready to roll.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests