Amahi Virtualized

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11300
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Amahi Virtualized

Postby bigfoot65 » Sun Dec 02, 2012 3:55 pm

Probably true. Thanks for the pointer, found the setting. What is best to put for search domain? Right now it's the HDA domain, but once I switch things over I presume it would need to be changed, right?
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

User avatar
sgtfoo
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:27 pm

Re: Amahi Virtualized

Postby sgtfoo » Sun Dec 02, 2012 4:01 pm

Probably true. Thanks for the pointer, found the setting. What is best to put for search domain? Right now it's the HDA domain, but once I switch things over I presume it would need to be changed, right?
whichever is your primary domain you want to go through, so yes your HDA, as Amahi defaults to "home"(.com)

othey
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 2:57 am

Re: Amahi Virtualized

Postby othey » Sun Dec 02, 2012 4:35 pm

I have been playing around with Esxi this weekend on an old amd x2 2.9Ghz 5GB RAM test bed, I plan on getting an AM3+ x8 FX-8120 and 16GB RAM for my final build. I plan on giving amahi 2 cores and 3GB ram. Then use the other cores/ram for the other vm's I plan on doing.

I managed to do a live convert of my current Hda to the esxi server minus the greyhole drives using vmware converter standalone client/server.

At first it wouldn't boot until I used a live cd of ubuntu-secure-remix-12.10 64bit and done a boot repair following this guide http://askubuntu.com/questions/139121/g ... -dual-boot

Now its booting it just gives me some errors about the greyhole drives at boot.I did have to change the IP and disable the dns dhcp server after it booted up so it wouldn't conflict with my current Hda.

I am not sure for my final build If I should do a live convert and re-add the greyhole drives after the conversion is done, Or do a clean install of Amahi and add the greyhole drives.

Anyone know the pros/cons of Esxi vs proxmox ?
The initial advantage I think Proxmox has over ESXi includes:
  • - no limit on hardware expansion (ESXi limits the cores/socket and the RAM per socket on the free version)
    - openVZ containers (Linux-only containers that use kernel-sharing and resource sharing on the host machine, to have several OS containers. There are limitations, but some people have reported up to 200 openVZ instances on a single hardware box)
If you want pros and cons, join the proxmox forums and the esxi forums and read up what people complain and praise about. It's a decent approach. If you need hands-on, run each hypervisor inside virtualbox .... yes a hypervisor inside a VM.. it will let you interact with it and decide if it's to your liking.
Looks like esxi only limits the amount of ram you can use (32GB) taken from http://communities.vmware.com/thread/419394

I'll install proxmox and have a play around with that and do some reading on the various forums.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11300
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Amahi Virtualized

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon Dec 03, 2012 5:23 pm

Looks like I can get a MB with AMD 6-core processor and 16GB RAM for about $240. I could save $20 if I went with a quad-core, but figure it's worth it for 2 extra cores.

I presume this will be sufficient to run a VM server and Amahi all at once.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

othey
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 2:57 am

Re: Amahi Virtualized

Postby othey » Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:47 pm

More than enough :)

User avatar
sgtfoo
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:27 pm

Re: Amahi Virtualized

Postby sgtfoo » Tue Dec 04, 2012 11:34 am

been busy with the wiki...

could we please add

http://wiki.amahi.org/index.php/Amahi_Virtualized

to the main wiki page under a category such as Installation?
SgtFoo
HDA: VM inside oVirt FX-8300 95w (2 cores for HDA), 32GB RAM (2GB for HDA)
My PC: FX-8300, 16GB RAM, 3x 1TB HDDs, Radeon HD6970 2GB video; Win10 Pro x64
Other: PC, Asus 1215n (LXLE), Debian openZFS server (3x(2x2tb) mirrors)
Modem&Network: Thomson DCM475; Asus RT-AC66U; HP 1800-24G switch

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11300
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Amahi Virtualized

Postby bigfoot65 » Tue Dec 04, 2012 6:36 pm

It has been added.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

User avatar
sgtfoo
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:27 pm

Re: Amahi Virtualized

Postby sgtfoo » Wed Dec 05, 2012 1:08 pm

mostly done...

http://wiki.amahi.org/index.php/Amahi_i ... t_Greyhole

let me know if anything is unclear or needs more detail.
SgtFoo
HDA: VM inside oVirt FX-8300 95w (2 cores for HDA), 32GB RAM (2GB for HDA)
My PC: FX-8300, 16GB RAM, 3x 1TB HDDs, Radeon HD6970 2GB video; Win10 Pro x64
Other: PC, Asus 1215n (LXLE), Debian openZFS server (3x(2x2tb) mirrors)
Modem&Network: Thomson DCM475; Asus RT-AC66U; HP 1800-24G switch

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11300
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Amahi Virtualized

Postby bigfoot65 » Wed Dec 05, 2012 4:28 pm

Good start. I will read through and see if I can follow it.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11300
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Amahi Virtualized

Postby bigfoot65 » Thu Dec 06, 2012 8:25 pm

Got my motherboard and CPU tonight. Went with the AMD 8 core processor and ASRock motherboard. Going to add 16GB RAM and start building my Proxmox server. Unsure if I want to use a 120GB SSD for OS or just use a 1TB drive so there is sufficient room for VMs.

The remaining drives will be Greyhole storage pool drives. I may use the SSD as a backup drive for the OS. Not sure yet, but have many options available. I am also going to add a second network card so I can have 1 for Proxmox and 1 for Amahi.

Any thoughts or recommendations?
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest