tomtheappraiser

CLOSED: Mounting Shares Locally

Postby tomtheappraiser » Fri Nov 18, 2016 3:37 pm

I am trying to install the mount shares locally. Following the wiki I got to

Code: Select all

chmod +x /etc/init.d/mount_shares_locally
and it came back with:

Code: Select all

chmod: cannot access ‘/etc/init.d/mount_shares_locally’: No such file or directory

bigfoot65
Project Manager

Re: Mounting Shares Locally

Postby bigfoot65 » Fri Nov 18, 2016 5:10 pm

You might have missed a step. I have followed the tutorial and works fine.

If you are doing copy and paste then you might want to type it in.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

Epedrego

Postby Epedrego » Wed Jan 11, 2017 4:24 pm

Tom - Obvious question... did you do this as root?

I'm pretty new to this and don't have a clear understanding to what mounting shares locally really means. I assumed that shares are by default mounted locally, but, if not, what is the alternative? Does this have more to do with Fedora/linux than Amahi? I read the wiki(https://wiki.amahi.org/index.php/Mount_Shares_Locally) and I can tell that they are path to access files on the server without directly using the server file system, but not clear what other methods can be used to mount shares.

Thanks!

bigfoot65
Project Manager

Postby bigfoot65 » Wed Jan 11, 2017 4:52 pm

The tutorial states to do as root user.

This is only used if you have implemented Greyhole.

Shares are mounted by default and no action is needed.

Not sure what you are asking on trying to do.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

Epedrego

Postby Epedrego » Wed Jan 11, 2017 6:51 pm

Just asking if Tom remembered to run it as root is all.