CLOSED: HDA Shares not showing up in Network

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11441
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: HDA Shares not showing up in Network

Postby bigfoot65 » Wed May 18, 2016 1:22 pm

I just added that last night.

The article was written in 2010 so way outdated.

Sorry it was not properly identified before you wasted your time trying to make things work.

If you don't need further assistance I will close this thread.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

rtcoder
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 8:13 pm

Re: HDA Shares not showing up in Network

Postby rtcoder » Sun Jun 05, 2016 9:26 pm

So I bought two powerline networking adapters (http://www.amazon.com/NETGEAR-Powerline ... r+xavb5221) and set them up, and I attempted to set up a secure connection though I am not sure if it worked, as there is no indication that it is secure. I completely reinstalled Amahi with a new profile, and I removed the wireless adapter before reinstalling. Nothing has been fixed, I am encountering just the same error. What can I do?

rtcoder
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 8:13 pm

Re: HDA Shares not showing up in Network

Postby rtcoder » Sun Jun 05, 2016 10:07 pm

Good news! In my Linux file manager, Nemo (basically Nautilus), my HDA shows up in Network, in the tab "Windows Network". However, this is strange, as the first time I installed Amahi and Samba was working, I didn't have to go into the folder "Windows Network" to view the HDA. Also, the same errors are still being recorded in the logs. So I still think this isn't solved fully.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11441
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: HDA Shares not showing up in Network

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon Jun 06, 2016 4:23 am

Based on your last post, does the problem remain.

Also please refresh my memory, which install guidance did you follow?
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

rtcoder
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 8:13 pm

Re: HDA Shares not showing up in Network

Postby rtcoder » Mon Jun 06, 2016 5:25 pm

I used the Amahi 9 Install instructions to install.

I do not know if the problem still persists exactly. The log is showing me the same errors, and I'm pretty sure those errors shouldn't be there, but file sharing is working. So, my server is functional, but now my question is mostly just a matter of trying to understand this.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11441
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: HDA Shares not showing up in Network

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon Jun 06, 2016 5:36 pm

I used the Amahi 9 Install instructions to install.
There are two different install methods, CD and DVD. Hopefully the CD.

If your server is functional, then I recommend we close this thread. If you have further questions, you can start a new thread.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

rtcoder
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 8:13 pm

Re: HDA Shares not showing up in Network

Postby rtcoder » Mon Jun 06, 2016 5:38 pm

It was USB install.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11441
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: HDA Shares not showing up in Network

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon Jun 06, 2016 5:47 pm

Ok. Shouldn't have caused issues, but we recommend using the CD first. Did you follow CD install instructions? We don't have USB install instructions, only how to use USB as boot device.

That has been the most successful path. Too many USB software programs out that might not work correctly.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

rtcoder
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 8:13 pm

Re: HDA Shares not showing up in Network

Postby rtcoder » Mon Jun 06, 2016 5:50 pm

I didn't use UnetBootin or anything. My Linux Mint Desktop OS has a tool that writes disk image files directly to USB, so I'm pretty sure it worked fine.

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11441
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: HDA Shares not showing up in Network

Postby bigfoot65 » Mon Jun 06, 2016 5:52 pm

Did you follow CD install instructions?
You didn't answer my question.

Hard to say. As I said, we only can test CD and DVD installs so no guarantee the USB install works as expected.

Unless you need further assistance, will close this thread.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests