File Syncronization?

NeveSSL

File Syncronization?

Postby NeveSSL » Tue Feb 24, 2009 10:13 pm

Hi all!

I am really looking forward to using Amahi! I am fairly new to Linux, but I'm anxious to finally do a home server (albeit virtual for now ;) ).

Anyway, I was wondering if anyone knew of any programs I could run that would automatically sync files? What I would like is for all of my "My Documents" (music, too, but I believe that can be done otherwise :) ) on my machines (currently only two) to sync up and also be backed up on the server. I would still like for the documents to be local, though, so when I take my laptop to work everything is there and waiting.

I've got a feeling there may be possible solutions for this.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Brandon

cpg
Administrator

Re: File Syncronization?

Postby cpg » Wed Feb 25, 2009 3:04 am

this is a very very interesting topic!
we looked a bit into it and there are a couple of possibilities.

probably unison is the best thing out there. it has linux clients, windows clients, the linux version is there

http://www.linuxjournal.com/article/7712

i think it could be made into a server app.

there is also conduit, but it's GUI-driven.

we are starting our developer program, so if you are interested in helping out, that'd be great!
discussing this is interesting. it's very useful and one of the more often requested features.
My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 8GB RAM, 1TBx2+3TBx1

NeveSSL

Postby NeveSSL » Wed Feb 25, 2009 7:26 am

Thanks for the reply, cpg. :)

I am far from a developer... my associates degree is in computer science, but C++ about killed me... :lol:

I will check those out and see what I can come up with. I'm having fun with Fedora and Amahi both now that I got them installed. I love virtual machines... I can't wait to get this on a dedicated machine! :)

Brandon

NeveSSL

Postby NeveSSL » Wed Feb 25, 2009 8:06 am