Transfer Speed

OldSkul
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 6:53 am

Re: Transfer Speed

Postby OldSkul » Sun Oct 09, 2011 3:56 am

Well, my transfer speed increased when i enabled write cache in my BIOS ;)

apastor
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 6:58 am

Re: Transfer Speed

Postby apastor » Thu Jul 21, 2016 3:35 pm

I know this is an old post, but I have not been around for awhile, but I wanted to share some new network speeds I am getting. Right now I am getting 130MB/sec now.

I am not using amahi at the moment, but I thought I would update this thread as someone may be curious to what I did.

To reach these speeds my current hardware setup is

CPU: AMD FX 6100 Six Core
RAM: 8GB DDR3
HDD: 4x1TB RAID10 (Adaptec)
NIC: Intel Gigbit Card

(of course gigbit switch and CAT5e cables

fyi, when i got this hardware 3 .5 years ago, i installed proxmox and was using that until last month. The whole time using it, my network speeds were about 30 - 40MB/sec

I finally got away from it and did a clean ubuntu server install, with samba and now im 130MB/sec. No tweaking at all on server or Windows 7 PC.
Proxmox Server: Currently Not Running Amahi
CPU: AMD FX 6100 Six Core
RAM: 8GB DDR3
HDD: 4x1TB RAID10 (Adaptec)

User avatar
bigfoot65
Project Manager
Posts: 11863
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Transfer Speed

Postby bigfoot65 » Thu Jul 21, 2016 3:58 pm

Interesting.

Maybe you could share your smb.conf file contents. That may be a clue as to the correct settings needed for optimal transfer speeds.

If its lengthy, might be best to attach it.
ßîgƒσστ65
Applications Manager

My HDA: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz on MSI board, 16GB RAM, 1TBx1+2TBx2+4TBx2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests